Wander logo

5 Pike Place Must Go's

Brought to You by a Local

By Grace KennerPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
View of the Market sign and bay.

So you've decided to go to Pike Place, or maybe you're there already and not sure where to begin; and I'm your guide. Over the years I've been to Pike many times, it's so full of life, energy... and confusion. So many people, so many places, so much food, all the color, sound, and smells!

Pike Place Chowder

So, first off we've got a hearty sit down meal. If chowder isn't your thing we'll add a few other places that you may fancy. But oh, please just try a bite! I have been a die hard chowder fan since I was very young, and Pike Place Chowder reignited my love for this... comfort food/heaven in a bowl. They serve 8 different chowders every day with only the freshest ingredients, along with seafood rolls, and salads they offer fresh squeezed lemonade - I am always on the lookout for a good glass of lemonade! In the late spring to early fall they have a wonderful sit down area outside adjacent to the most photogenic alley you'll ever walk down, Post Alley. Just a quick insert for the globally conscious, they do serve 100% certified sustainable seafood. Click here to view their Post Alley menu, don't forget that they do have gluten- free, and vegan options and carry-out is offered!

Piroshki Piroshki

My goodness! Alright, so if you don't have the time to sit down and enjoy a cup of chowder, this place is another top of the list favorite for my family! For those that don't know (like me), a piroshki is a Russian pastry filled with either meat, or veggies, then either deep fried or baked. The line can be pretty substantial during peak hours, but all I could think after the first bite was 'worth it.' and I guarantee that you'll say the same. They are the filling, small snack, perfect for eating on the go as you take in all the sights the Market has to offer. Sadly this one does not have a gluten free option that I can find, however they do offer vegetarian friendly options! Browse their menu here before heading to the line.

Daily Dozen Doughnut Co.

[insert crazy food lady laughter here] This. Freaking. Place. So I listed the more healthy wholesome options first but... c'mon. Pike Place is home to the very first Starbucks and though I'm a sucker for history, there's better coffee to be had. However, that being said, the doughnuts are the main draw to this next amazing company. Daily Dozen makes their mini doughnuts right in front of you, then coats them in whatever topping(s) you choose, and off you go with your dozen under $4. Their coffee is almost as good as their doughnuts which is saying something considering neither cease to amaze me, or the people that I've brought with to this magical little shop. I couldn't find a website but they do have a Facebook page and you should be able to view their menu here. And I gotta add, that I love the fact that everything on their menu is... wait for it... UNDER $5!!! Yeah, I know, you're welcome.

The Pike Brewing Co.

One of Seattle's first craft brewers, has been producing top quality beers of character since 1989 and 'are steeped in 9,000 years of beer history.' While this is an ultimate destination for IPA/hand craft brewing nerds like my dad (who strongly recommends the Pike IPA, Naughty Nelly, and Space Needle IPA), it's also an amazing stop in for anyone with an appetite for great food and brew. I don't know about you but there's just something about handcrafted beer that hits the spot, and Pike Place Brewery is a cut above the rest. Not only is it a local PNW handcraft brewery, it's made by wonderful people with over 50 years combined experience (possibly more, math was never my subject) in brewing professionally, and their passion for the work can be tasted in their eight year round and seventeen seasonal beers. Ugh, those numbers!!! Not so much a drinker? They have fantastic food, careful, clicking here to look at the menu for their Tankard & Tun restaurant might just make you hungry. You can regularly spot the chefs scouring the market for fresh ingredients which personally, I find to be another example of just how top notch place this is. I'm running out of words for this selection, but they offer tours Tuesday through Saturday at 3PM under Tour & Tasting (which is $5 for people 21+ and free for anyone under-age) that you can schedule here.

Golden Age Collectibles

So this final place is not for eating, in fact I would leave food and drink far from this place out of sheer respect. Golden Age Collectables is the ultimate nerd shop to satisfy your inner child. From boards games to clothing, collectibles and comics this place has everything... including life size cut outs of... a lot of characters but when I was there the only one I cared about was Zachary Quinto as Spock from the newest Star Trek movies. My brother's biggest draw to this shop is always the scripts they have from your favorite shows and movies. It may take a minute to find but this is the ultimate destination to satisfy your inner nerd (we all have one). They are two floors down from the Pike Place Fish Market, keeping your head well below those flying salmon, and your mind deep in your childhood imagination of adventure and wonder. If you want a more comprehensive overview of their... everything, here is the link to their website.

Now ditch the Space Needle and Starbucks, go throw back a couple fresh local oysters on the half shell, chase 'em with some Naughty Nelly and a good comic book, and take home some chowder and piroshki's for dinner(you know the doughnuts wont last the ride home) because I assure you, there is no better way to spend your afternoon at Pike Place.

guide
Like

About the Creator

Grace Kenner

I am a millennial multi-potentialite with a manic motivation to mold my own reality... and I lurve food.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.