Wander logo

5 Inexpensive Eateries in Myrtle Beach

Good food doesn't have to dent the wallet

By Amber LaVinePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
5 Inexpensive Eateries in Myrtle Beach
Photo by Ryan Jacobson on Unsplash

If you have followed any of my "5" lists you know that I love to travel but I don't love to spend a lot of money doing it. One of the things I like to do before I visit a new place is to find out where the locals eat. Restaurants that cater to mostly locals are more likely to have delicious food at affordable prices. If I am already in a city I will ask for recommendations. One of my favourite people to ask is police officers on foot. If you are in a city or town that is touristy or busy there is a good chance you will encounter an officer on foot. Ask them what their favourite restaurant is. I am always guaranteed a great meal.

By Tim Bish on Unsplash

1. Big Mike's Soul Food: I ate here on my second trip to Myrtle Beach and I have been going back since. The food is absolutely delicious. Meals average about $10 give or take a few bucks in either direction. They have a typical kids menu as well. Their cornbread is delicious and the peach cobbler is to die for. They are located right off N Kings Highway on 16th Ave N.

504 16th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

By Joseph Gonzalez on Unsplash

2. Mammy's Kitchen: This is the place for breakfast. It is your classic old fashion diner. They have a large breakfast menu with all the southern favourites on it. Mammy's also offers a breakfast buffet which is something I don't run into often. They are open from 7 am-12 pm. With a location close to the beach they are within walking distance from many hotels. If you do drive there is a large parking lot alongside the restaurant. For me, someone who dislikes breakfast, this restaurant is high on my list of all-time favourites.

1010 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

By Joshua Kantarges on Unsplash

3. Hamburger Joe's: This place is one of the best places to eat. The atmosphere is fantastic and the food is excellent. On top of all that it is cheap. You can easily get a whole meal including a drink for $10 or less. Burgers are under $5. They offer a menu beyond burgers as well. BBQ, Fried Bologna, and grilled chicken also make this menu everything you may need. They have a set price for shots of $6 and their bottled beer is $4.25. With prices like these, you can't go wrong. There are two locations. The one thing you do need to know is that if you choose to go to the North Myrtle Beach Location they only accept cash.

North Myrtle Beach: 712 48th Ave S, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582

Surfside: 1410 US-17 BUS, Surfside Beach, SC 29575

By Emily Powers on Unsplash

4. Pizza Hyena: This place has the best Neopoliatin Pizza in Myrtle beach. It is a short walk from Ocean Blvd and the beach and they offer indoor and outdoor seating. This is a restaurant I usually hit up when I am shopping on Ocean Blvd or after a day at Surfside beach. They also have a full bar. Their pizzas typically range from $12.50-$14.50. I am not a fan of olives but if you are I have heard rave reviews about their olives with the bread.

13 Ocean Blvd S, Surfside Beach, SC 29575

By Tommaso Cantelli on Unsplash

5. Dirty Don's Oyster Bar and Grill: We can't have a beach restaurant list without one seafood restaurant and I love Dirty Don's. This one is on what I would call the expensive end of cheap. For seafood you can expect to pay $12-$23 for dinner depending on would you are ordering, a few selections may be a little more expensive depending on market price. I love crab cakes and their sandwich, which is excellent I might add, is $15. They have other things as well if you or someone in your party isn't a seafood fan they also offer burgers, chicken, and salads. They also offer a kids menu with a good variety of choices that should please even the pickiest eater.

408 21st Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

budget travel
Like

About the Creator

Amber LaVine

Amber is a web developer and blogger and master of the "5" list. She is also a wanderlust who is always on the lookout for a bargain."There is no reason to break the bank to travel."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.