Wander logo

3 Things I Wish I Did When I Traveled to China

A Reflection on My Younger Self

By Mickey KyanPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - November 2017
Like
This is me on the Great Wall of China! April 2012 photo taken by a friend

When I was 15 years old, I had the opportunity of a lifetime to travel to China. I had taken Mandarin Chinese as my foreign language of choice in middle and high school, and my school offered the trip. I was able to experience the cities of Beijing, Xi'an, and Shanghai all in about one week! It was definitely the trip of a lifetime.

As it's been five years since I took this trip, I want to reflect and share three things I've learned about travel since then and wish I knew before taking this trip.

Disclaimer: I don't want to sound like this entire trip was for nothing. I loved every moment of it! This is just how I feel reflecting back on my younger self.

1. I wish I knew more of the language.

I had taken the base "Chinese 101" class at this point, so I could introduce myself, talk about my favorite color, sentences like that. However, I didn't know much practical language. I couldn't really ask, "Where is the bathroom?" or "How much does this cost?" Looking back, I feel like I could have had a richer experience with practicing my spoken language if I had taken maybe one or two more years of the class.

2. I wish I was more adventurous with trying new food.

I grew up as a very shy person, and this unfortunately translated to my trip. I was very anxious to try new foods, so I often didn't. I ended up losing a lot of weight due to not eating enough and constantly sightseeing in the hot sun. I did try some new foods that I don't regret but I often resorted to foods I could easily have eaten at home, like McDonald's or KFC. My next trip abroad, I plan to eat as much as I can of local or regional foods, with chain restaurants being reserved for foods I can only get in that country.

3. I wish I was more immersed.

Throughout my whole trip I kept thinking about my friends and family at home. I constantly tried to stay in touch with a partner at the time and would stress myself out over it. Looking back, I know I went too far with it and couldn't fully enjoy myself while I was away. I still kick myself when I think of a time I was in Shanghai, when I had the chance to explore a market, but instead I sat in front of a Starbucks trying to get Wi-Fi. At the end of the day, I would also try to get in contact with people at home instead of spending time in the city I flew so far for, taking in the culture. Moving forward, I try to keep in contact through posting on social media, and chatting with people during less hectic moments.

I would say my takeaway is that if you're planning to go to a foreign country, don't make the same mistakes I made. Of course, do what you are comfortable with and stay in touch with your loved ones, but don't forget you're the one on the trip; become immersed and you'll have incredible stories for the rest of your life.

student travel
Like

About the Creator

Mickey Kyan

Hi! I'm Mickey and my pronouns are they/them/theirs. I'm 23 years old and a recent college graduate. I like to write about my interests, from food, travel, games, LGBTQ+ topics, and more!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.