Wander logo

1 BRIDGE Home Is Home

"Heart and Soul Of The Concrete"

By VLit101Published 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Home Is where the heart pumps, through the air we breathe through the streets we grieve hoping the same beliefs, building the wall of expression the life of lessons striving through the oppression and systematic depressions, what comes from these deep rooted tree that once was a seed that was planted to in the middle of pain. First the grain from which I came upright. The streets always had a bad name, whats the results of struggle some make ways out of what's given also trying to reach opportunity which seems like reaching to the moon and underneath those stars we may gaze up to dreams to reality and the choices made can change an individuals life at the snap of a finger. Wonder you could be here one minute enjoying your life and the next minute may not be so promising as we all are still enduring (2020) in this pandemic. Growth leads to great accomplishment so every minute of the road begins and the path leads to the Bridge or should I say the soul of the streets.

Example; The Road begins listening to the soulful sounds of the greatest tunes playing in the background from a record player, How far we have come with technology from that a needle revolving around vinyl spinning into a 360 motion give birth to a culture. Where It all begins November 4,1980, I guess journey must have begun as the world welcomed me into an environment which I had no knowledge of maybe knowing that the Mother and Father I have grown to know and love who were very religious and faithful people still felt the air which we all knew were we grew up wasn't the safest place but we always made the best of what we had. I still remember my very firsts address 1330 Park Avenue Bridgeport, Connecticut the inner city surrounded by a well rounded community culture diversified. Let me break it down West End , East End where my family made home, South End, and North End. As I look back they wouldn't proclaim sides that One Bridge connected one End of town to the other End. Connect key word we were aware of the times we lived in and those days were days to endure. The truth of the matter is something turned that city cold at night. I could remember hearing my mother call us in the house during some trying times, we all may have heard the crime take place unaware but also knew there would become change. Which is also the Home of something so marvelous as P.T Barnum Ringling Bros Circus turn into a city of crook and crime. As I start my journey I do recall a my mother working , and My Father as well he was a God Fearing hard working Longshoreman who I mainly seen when it was time to attend our weekly Bible study I could remember hearing excitement through the streets while service was in session. True like every other kid attended wanted to get back to the fire hydrants, bikes, city chase which we know as tag. Thinking to myself how technology changed the way it use to be those days we had to stick our fingers in the rotary to make a call now hands free. "Kids" generations where we played without a care in the world thinking of some of the times I made life long friends.

East End I could remember following my cousins through the streets and wanted to be in the action we all had a good bond lets get to my family. They used to ride there bikes from the East End to West end to see me and my older Brother "Kenny' man I miss him thinking to myself he never wanted me to tag a long I guess that's how it is when your coming of age. My older cousin on the other hand was a skilled instructor if it was upcoming he knew about it technology wise before we could grasp it. He was all about fun and family still till this day. I learned a lot about community from him and that's one of the reasons I want to cross that Bridge to show them that what kept us connected growing up we relocated down the street to Washington Place & Terrace which gave me a sense of survival.

The school I attended was James J. Curiale. That school was fairly new when I started there and learned our basic k-6 education. This is the school where I made life long friends to this day. The district we I grew up had it’s share of violence and crime which made us products of our environment. We always made the best of what we had. There’s a lot to be left unsaid about the upside and downside of growing up in the inner city but all we can do is hope for the best and strive. Home remains where the heart is and I’m proud to be where I’m from. Home of lots of good food internationals vibes and family love through all trails and tribulations. We learned to make pleasure out of pain no matter your background where we are from. Growing up I feel this one bridge kept that connection through our drama a reference of what was to build to walk across to get from one side to the other. The depth cause me to see no matter the struggle on the way we still crossed that bridge over troubled waters to get to the other side where love awaits.

humanity
2

About the Creator

VLit101

Growth Building our culture financially and physically to tackle all platforms that ensure your voice being heard across the world, Great mind to Great mind. Start the process within proclaim writing, music and conscience thinking.Future

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.