Trader logo

Trying My Hand

A Stocks Newbie Rant

By Kit ala KatPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Since everything in the world is crashing to pieces around us, I figure I would try my hand at some stocks. I am completely useless with money, spunk most of my pay checks on collectables and junk food and frankly do not make good decisions (Just look at my dating history…not a good track record there).

But hey! Trading 212 looks super easy and boasts about being so helpful. I am now an adult woman, no matter where I am in the world I can drink! So why shouldn’t I take some meagre savings for the 2020 holiday that never happened and put them into the stock market. I could make some big bucks in 10 years if the world is still around.

So naturally, I put £200 into Disney stocks. Hopefully that one pans out when everything reopens again and it’s not just Disney+ for them. Disney seemed like a pretty safe bet to a rookie like me. As of this moment I have only ever seen it in the red.

Penny stock! Penny stocks is a word I remember from wolf of wall street. Those seem somewhat safe, since they are so cheap. The UK market (for those that don’t know) is shown as pence. So, if something is worth £2.30 per stock it shows up as 230. Yet another rookie mistake on my part and I assumed that JD Wetherspoon stock was 873 not 8.73 per stock. Boy did I look foolish at work.

If anyone is wondering the penny stocks I bought? Cineworld and Aston Martin. Cineworld seems to be risky since they almost shut but I’m hoping all the big new blockbusters due in 2021 will boost that back up immediately. James Bond to save the day after all.

I’ll admit Aston Martin was simply cause its cheap, I'm British, and I was watching a car show at the time. But either way, it’s been all green. I’ve only made 10p but that’s 10p I didn’t have two weeks ago. We can ignore the fact I've still lost money. Thanks Disney.

Still, why loose hope hm? Let’s sink even more money into this ‘I'm an adult’ fad and buy not even one full stock of Netflix or Tesla because damn are they expensive right now. Elon Musk becoming a walking meme + a pandemic makes some happy stockbrokers. On the line of thought about ‘pandemic panic investments’ with the lockdown two looming I also decided to invest in some gaming companies.

The lockdown two measures stated that if you click and collect the new consoles you are allowed to leave your house to get one. The new consoles would still be a raging success. Do I pick Sony? Microsoft? nooo this absolute genius buys 0.28 shares of Ubisoft. Once again, not even a full share. Once again, immediate loses. I’m hoping that in ten years when all the gaming is virtual and Ready Player One-esque Ubisoft will become the king of the castle.

To summarise this long stock rant- if you suck at decision making then don’t do it. If you are impatient, don’t do it. I am checking my stocks app every 5 minuets to see if I’ve suddenly hit the big bucks. I don’t know if I will be able to wait ten years.

I will admit, it’s at least comforting that my 3.37 stocks in Funko are on the consistent green side. Even if my partner keeps making snide jokes that they are only in profit due to my consist spending. But if a girl needs a 10” Scrooge McDuck Vinyl figure, then a girl needs a 10” Scrooge McDuck Vinyl figure.

investing
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.