The Swamp logo

The Fourteen Points of Fascism and Our President

Some Spooky Similarities...

By Mary CaitlynPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

A while back, Dr. Lawrence Britt studied the regimes of the world's most infamous fascist leaders, including Hitler and Mussolini. He managed to narrow down their time of ruling into fourteen clear points that define fascism.

Now, my mom is a history teacher, and she passed out an article on this last school year. At the time, I was her student aide (mostly so I could eat my breakfast). I asked for a copy after class and the similarities were quite terrifying in my eyes. Later that year, I was tasked with making a political cartoon for my government class, in which I depicted Donald Trump standing in front of the fourteen points of fascism paired with his tweets and direct quotes.

Let's take a look, shall we?

1. Powerful and Continuing Nationalism

Simply put, it's when all that is uttered from the lips of an authoritative figure praises the country. It's all about flags, slogans, everything that has to do with the country in question. It's the buildup that burns a fire into the bones of supporters everywhere.

The Donald Trump Quote: "Let's Make America Great Again!"

My Take: Since the day he announced his candidacy, I noticed something was definitely off about him. He kept saying how America was in shambles, painting himself as some type of hero, which I greatly disagree with.

2. Disdain for the Recognition of Human Rights

So, this one is the denial of people because of a deep-seated fear of national security. This happens when a leader persuades his/her followers into believing that there is a "need" that human rights should be ignored on the basis of "national security."

The Donald Trump Quote: (From his speech on the travel ban) "...'Suspension of entry or imposition of restrictions by the president.' Now, this isn't just me—this is for Obama, for Ronald Reagan, for the president. And this was done, very importantly, for security. It was done for the security of our nation, the security of our citizens, so that people come in who aren't going to do us harm. And that's why it was done. And it couldn't have been written any more precisely. It's not like, 'Oh, gee, we wish it were written better.' It was written beautifully."

My Take: Not only are all of his policies on any type of foreigner that isn't from somewhere in Europe, Emma Lazarus wrote about how America is "the Golden Door." He incites fear of the Muslims because in his eyes, a lot of them "hate us"

3. Identification of Enemies/Scapegoats as a Unifying Cause

This one is pretty self explanatory! Basically, a leader blames everything on someone else. The leader will project blame onto a group of people that he/she thinks will unify his/her followers.

The Donald Trump Quote: "When Mexico is sending its people, they're not sending their best. They're bringing drugs. They're bringing crime. They're rapists. And some, I assume, are good people."
A BONUS Quote: "Islam hates us."

My Take: Why can't we just man up and accept that WE are the problem? Our jobs are going because we aren't going out to GET them. Islam doesn't hate us, and neither do the Muslims. I know two guys in my school, brothers, one graduated, and they're the nicest people you'll ever meet. Annoying? Yes. Terrorists? No.

4. Supremacy of the Military (Coming From an Army BRAT)

So, supremacy of the military is when a leader puts the military on a pedestal. Nothing is important domestically; it's all about the military. Soldiers and war are glamorized. It's all about winning wars and nothing else.

The Donald Trump Quote: “He’s not a war hero. He was a war hero because he was captured. I like people who weren’t captured.”

My Take: Who says this? He was quoted as saying he wants the Purple Heart, but let me tell you something, a Purple Heart is awarded to a Soldier/Marine/Sailor/Airman who was injured in the line of duty. My great-great uncle was a POW in Germany. It was so awful that he never spoke about it. Not to his wife, not to his kids, no one. Not even on his death bed. The only hint to his past were the scars all over his body.

5. Rampant Sexism

Ooh boy. The big one that sparks controversy at every turn. Politics are mostly male-dominated. There's no denying it. But when a fascist leader is in power, traditional gender roles are KEY. Simply put? Women are objects; divorce, abortion, and homosexuality are huge taboos.

The Donald Trump Tweet: "26,000 unreported sexual assaults in the military, and only 238 convictions. What did these geniuses expect when they put men & women together."

My Take: He's saying that rape is expected. Seriously? What kind of freak says that kind of stuff unless he's a sexual predator himself? This sickens me.

6. Controlled Mass Media

So, when I say "controlled mass media," I don't mean that the media is controlled directly by said leader. It could be reporters/journalists or networks/stations who are sympathetic to the leader.

The Donald Trump Tweet: "The fake news media is going crazy with their conspiracy theories and blind hatred. @MSNBC and @CNN are unwatchable. @foxandfriends is great!

My Take: He can't be serious, can he? Any media that says anything bad about him is attacked by his tweets or his words. Any butt kisser media networks are okay in his book.

7. Obsession With National Security

This happens when a leader uses fear to motivate people, such as jobs being taken, threats of war, spies, etc. They call for drastic action in response.

The Donald Trump Quote: "I will build a great, great wall on our southern border, and I will make Mexico pay for that wall. Mark my words."

My Take: Listen, there is a problem, I'll agree, but is building a wall that Mexico refuses to pay for a solution? How does that reflect on the American people?

8. Religion and government are intertwined.

Fascist governments usually use the most common religion as a focal point. There's always religious undertones in their speeches and they use it to gain more support from the previously mentioned religious community.

The Donald Trump Quote: "I will be the greatest jobs president that God ever created."

My Take: I'm not sure what religion Donald thinks he's relating to, but all religions have two ideas in common, which are love and compassion, two things our president DEFINITELY lacks. Using God as a way to gain more support is despicable.

9. Corporate power is protected.

It's all about money and business, isn't it? In fascist governments, businesses are glorified and so are those in positions of power in the industries are kind of like four star generals in the eyes of fascists. This creates a government/business link.

The Donald Trump Quote: "If business isn't a brand, it's a commodity."

My Take: I get that he was a businessman in the past, but attacking mom and pop shops is low. He believes that anything outside of big business should be gobbled up by the system.

10. Labor power is suppressed.

Labor unions are the number one enemy of fascism. Labor unions are either eliminated under fascist regime or suppressed.

The Donald Trump Quote: N/A

My Take: Seems like this is the only category he doesn't fit into...

11. Disdain for Intellectuals and the Arts

Fascists typically frown upon higher education, and expression is severely judged. Free expression is attacked.

The Donald Trump Tweet: "It is not 'freedom of the press' when newspapers and others are allowed to say and write whatever they want, even if it is completely false!"

My Take: Let's read that statement again... Did you read it? Okay. He says that the media shouldn't be able to write whatever they want, which literally takes away the term "freedom of the press." I find it funny how he contradicts himself at every turn.

12. Obsession With Crime and Punishment

This one is self-explanatory. Basically, law enforcement has the utmost power, and police brutality is overlooked in the name of "patriotism."

The Donald Trump Tweet: "If Chicago doesn't fix the horrible "carnage" going on, 228 shootings in 2017 with 42 killings (up 42 percent from 2016), I will send in the feds!"

My Take: Sending in the feds won't do much in the way of fixing the crime rate. That might cause more violence instead of less.

13. Rampant Cronyism and Corruption

Fascist leaders tend to put their buddies in positions of power, kind of like a "you scratch my back" scenario. It doesn't matter if this person has qualifications or not. If you know them, they're in power.

The Donald Trump Tweet: "DeVos is right. Handicapped and minority children are too disruptive in the classroom. Disaster! Perhaps not everyone needs K-12 education."

My Take: Have you seen who he's appointed to power? DeVos is all about private schools and is horrifically inept when it comes to anything about education. She knows virtually nothing, and despite her hilariously awful committee hearing, she is in a position of power, despite her lack of experience.

14. Fraudulent Elections

In fascist governments, elections are very dishonest. Most of the time, there's interference or controlled voting.

The Donald Trump Tweet: "In addition to winning the Electoral College in a landslide, I won the popular vote if you deduct the millions of people who voted illegally.

My Take: Yeah, there was illegal voting, but that was on the side of our president. Recently, Trump Jr. admitted to colluding with Russia. Now tell me, how is that legal? He fired James Comey from the FBI because he was suspicious, and still there's enough suspicion to keep digging.

There you have it. I hope you take a step back and think "Did we really elect a fascist into the highest position of power?"

The answer is yes, yes we did.

Tell me what your take is.

trump
Like

About the Creator

Mary Caitlyn

As a 20 year old geek who tries to have a positive outlook in life, I'm all about acting, singing, art, and writing. I'm a feminist and mental health activist. Read my articles, and help me pay my tuition!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.