The Swamp logo

Why I'm finally taking Twitter seriously...

Or why I believe that the Revolution will be in Twitter's "Spaces".

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Screenshot taken from my backup phone, by me 8MAR2022; 0311, TUE.

8MAR2022; 0313, TUE

Peaceful tidings. We're nearly upon "the ides of March", when it seems we were just yesterday contemplating how to get chose (sic) for cuffing season.

Where does the time go? Fun fact: I'm convinced that TPTB (The Powers That Be) want almost all my fellow African Americans and I handcuffed, perp-walked, then thrown under someone's jail/prison.

If that's not their true heart's desire; then they, at least ostensibly, need us deceased. I'm incredibly doubtful that is dying in their for profit prisons isn't ideal to those who seemingly hold most of our fates in their hands.

There's, of course, the old hat trick as well: Our lives end by our own hands while behind bars. Color me jaded...

However, seldom green with envy; I believe. That is, jadeite or jade like.

Funny how many perceive racism to be unadulterated jealousy in many cases. In '12, the living legend NaS phenomenally rapped on his classic, "Stay": "Some say hatin' is confused admiration."

That is one of my all time favs by the triple OG (Original Gangster). I marvel at the fact that Wikipedia asserts he began his musical career in the very same year ('89) that I "shot my way out my Mom Dukes"- NaS in '94; on Illmatic (his debut album)'s “One Time 4 Your Mind”.

Enough stanning and whatnot tho. I'd be elated if y'all would think about considering a cursory "perusal" of some of my immensely recent words on the social media app supposedly repurposed for writers and readers who long to interact with one another.

I just wanna preface this initial "tirade" as one born of nearly an entire fortnight (two weeks' time) that primarily consisted of my personal frustrations, provocations, and/or repatriations. In addition, when I wasn't taking my internalized vitriol out on the people in my immediate vicinity, I'll be damned if I few and far between neglected opportunities to go HAM (Hard As a Mother******) in the Twitterverse; or what have you.

In the aforementioned exceptional instances, I regret nothing; nor do I intend to recant whatsoever; come what may. All in all, "good times."

Alrighty! Without further ado from the indubitably blue:

*** Begin transcription ***

8MAR2022; 2403, TUE

My very first (Twitter) thread!

Ironically, I was incensed being forced to rock a beret in the Army; til we switched back to PCs (Patrol Caps). Just began wearing mine, with my unit's crest, again; after getting out over a decade ago.

Also, I hated myself for being unable to find my black beanie (from my brand) that my youngest toddler hid somewhere in my crib (or home). It was my very first hat that I designed.

Now, I only sport the beret, or the "music beanie" that my Seeds got me for Xmas (or Christmas). I had no idea that they even made Bluetooth hats!

Anywhos, even tho it occasionally turns itself on and starts dialing whoever I called last; I make sure that my "Human Resources" know I appreciate them and anything that they gift/tell me. If we don't listen to our Progeny, we get a world with the current sitch (IMHO [In My Humble Opinion]).

The lack of role models that J. Cole infamously sang of in '14 is by design. If our potential mentors weren't locked and/or killed, we might actually have most Blacks in America unfathomably more successful than the majority of African Americans are right now.

That's why we have a Drug War (which drugs happened to win [IMHO]). Most folks who're "actually factually and "truly duly" educated, not just well indoctrinated, will invariably concur that natural pot/reefer/marijuana is not vaguely in the same toxicity as pharmaceuticals/alcohol/tobacco.

The latter can't moonlight (or double) as paper/concrete/ fuel/plastics/etc. "Coincidence? I think not!"

Conversely, how many bammas (or random individuals) credit cigs with curing their cancer? What about their child's epilepsy?

Maybe their Unc (Uncle)'s Parkinson's disease? Perhaps their Pops' alcohol addiction? Etc.

Now, I'm realizing my brand is in desperate need of an anti-prohibition/pro-cannabis tee; or two, or three... Whole time, why aren't major influencers on this tip (or concept)?

"Make it make sense!" They're probably afraid of getting blacklisted and/or blackballed; smh (shake my head).

The fact that this is not merely a feasibility... Relatedly, if ya happen to visit the #LinkinBio (sic) you'll easily find more "rampant ramblings" in the blog tab of the main menu.

Thx for reading my soapbox spiel; Love.

*** End transcription ***

Edit: While I've never listened to, nor even popped into, a Spaces feed by Twitter, I'm unquestionably certain that that's the saving grace of social media; and feasibly humanity to boot. It's all but self-evident (IMHO) that what the late, great poet Gil Scott-Heron unequivocally declared ("the Revolution will not be televised!") is a fact of life at this point in time.

On the other hand, I highly doubt that he could've imagined social media when he released that timeless essential back in '71. May that forefather of Hip Hop Rest In Power.

I figured peaceful retiring of his spirit to be in impossible in practically any sort of afterlife while watching the plight of our people continue witheringly. Presuming of course that he isn't somehow back, remembering his past life, and following thru with his aspirations of Liberation for the melanated peoples of this Third Rock from the Sun.

Instead of going off on yet another tangent, I'll attempt to end on a positive note. The more people begin to read; write about; and discuss books of actual substance, the sooner we'll be of one accord.

Unity based on Love, understanding, and empathy. "What a time..."

***

Edit #2: I somehow managed to completely forget that I had my best month, ever, this past February. While some of which is ostensibly due to my flurry of remarkably controversial (even by my standards) "stories" that were recently approved in rapid succession; I firmly perceive the success to be thx to my influx of Tweets lately.

Attempts at verifying such would most def be an exercise in futility, and a luxury of time/energy that's simply unaffordable for me at present. Regardless, I strongly encourage my fellow (Content) Creators, activists, and Freedom Lovers worldwide to marinate on giving Twitter a halfway decent chance at expanding our horizons; bare minimum.

It very well could prove to be an unceremonious debacle. Conversely, if it allows us to manifest a destiny of a paradise like habitat for humanity...

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

social media
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.