The Swamp logo

Where Is 'Safe'?

With the rise of mass shootings in America, is there any place where we can truly consider safe?

By KaciePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Picture from https://www.newsday.com/news/nation/dayton-shooting-ohio-1.34629521

Dear Vocal Readers,

Oh, safety, it seems to be a thing of the past in today's society. At this point mass shootings are just a regular occurrence in the US, which is beyond morbid. To become desensitized to such a display of violence should tell us that there is something seriously wrong with our current situation. These acts of terrorism are popping up in more and more locations as well, when the majority used to occur in a school setting. With any area posing a risk to our safety now, where are we supposed to feel safe?

If you are anything like me, you've planned out what to do in the case of a shooting. Figuring out where you would escape, how far your exit is, what items around you that you could use to defend yourself, or if you want to be the hero. While I always try to think I'd do the right thing and save those in need, who am I to tell? Us humans like to believe that we would be brave in a situation like that. But when all is said and done, heroes are hard to find. You won't know how you will react until the situation presents itself to you, and we all hope it never does. We can act like we know true terror, but until we actually face it, we have no idea.

With recent events, tension seems to be growing even higher. My employers recently took my employees and I through the plan they had set in place for if a shooting were to happen. It's saddening that this even has to be necessary. I even work in a bookstore of all places. It just shows you how dire this situation is becoming. It's bad enough being a young adult and having fears of leaving my house, but I can't even imagine how horrifying it must be for kids in school.

While I am still in school myself, I feel a sense of ease knowing that college attacks are a rare occurrence. Having just recently gotten out of high school, I have an idea of what it's like to be afraid of going to school. Blame it on my paranoia perhaps, but I don't think I went a single day without wondering if something horrible could happen. I wondered the same things I wonder today. But knowing that the whole building was full of friends and faculty members I had grown to care about made the situation even more terrifying. If something were to happen, should I run or should I try to save those I care about—or perhaps they would just be mad at me for risking my life? I constantly thought of places in the room that I could hide, or which object would make the best weapon. If I was feeling this anxiety at my age, how do the children feel?

While they all might not understand the dangers of going to school, there must be some that realize the risks. For those that are aware of the situation, how do they process it? At their age they shouldn't have to worry about things like this, so how would they react? I'd assume that most would be weary and scared like I was, but maybe some are just so used to the threat that it has become a part of normalcy. We all know these mass shootings are not going to stop anytime soon. As the situation worsened I even found myself losing track of all the tragedies. I would see on the news that there was another massacre and I would think to myself, "Another one"? We expect these attacks, so maybe these poor kids will grow up with the constant thought in the back of their head that today could be their last day. With all the attacks on children I also expect there to be a major rise in the amount of kids being home schooled. Some parents are too afraid for their child's safety to allow them to attend school anymore, and I don't blame them.

We as a nation are struggling with this situation we have found ourselves in. Anywhere can be the next target, and with that looming over our heads where can we truly feel safe? At some point, it may get so bad that people refuse to leave their homes, but hopefully it won't become that extreme. But when we know that the simple tasks of shopping at Walmart or going to the mall could be deadly, it's no wonder people are starting to become paranoid. Here's to hoping this country gets it's shit together, but in the meantime, stay safe.

Sincerely from my paranoid mind,

Kacie

controversies
Like

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.