The Swamp logo

What is Happening?

I mean what the hell actually is happening?

By CrystalPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

What is Happening? I mean what exactly the hell is happening? I turn on the TV, I read the news, I listen to the radio, I read Instaram and Twitter. I listen to people talking, I see the traffic, the smog, the rage and confusion, the fear on people’s faces. I see the desperate despair in everyone I meet. What is happening? I see the children playing at my daughter’s school who stare at me with a blank hopeless expression. I can’t help, I have nothing to comfort them with, not even a smile. I can’t breath. What is happening?

The year is 2020, the year that 20 years ago people talked about, as some blissful time in the future where everything would be easier, where technology and futuristic inventions would make our lives carefree. But today I heard on the news that one third of Australia’s forests are just gone, that the Artic has never been this hot and the icecaps are melting, and polar bears are starving. Yesterday I skimmed Instagram and watched a round up of wild horses being disbanded and taken to slaughter. Headlines read that "The Ocean's great reefs are dying", fish poisoned, plastic islands floating on the sea and walls are being built. On twitter I read about the Indian lands being destroyed by big oil. I can’t breath, what is happening? What are we doing? Nothing? What can I do? Where can I go? Who cares and how will anything I do make a difference? Some one tell me, What the actual hell is happening?

Today, I stood in a grocery store and looked at the isles and isles of food, I searched the shelves for something that I could feel comfortable feeding my children. Organic, sulfate free, No preservatives, grass fed, no antibiotics, no GMO; no nothing here to buy, the shelves are full of cheerfully labeled poison. I can’t breath, what is happening? Where can I go? Why is this happening? How do I change it? What can I do? How did things get this crazy? As I leave the store, a man holds a cardboard sign that says, “Anything will help”. He is old, not drunk, not drugged, just hungry. I can’t breath, my heart hurts, my heart is breaking, my hands tremble. I search my pockets for change but I cant find any. He looks like my grandfather, from the pictures from when he was in the war, the one where he is holding a flag, not a cardboard sign. He smiles at my daughter and gives her a wink, she recoils in fear. “Mommy I’m scared", me too. I can't breath. What is happening?

It is late, I can't sleep. I’m sitting up in bed looking at the moon outside my window. A big white luminous ball watching over us. It has always been there watching. It is beautiful. I can't breath, It is so simple, we are all on a little blue planet spinning around the sun. That’s it, that’s all, the only planet we have. The only single irreplaceable planet we have. My daughter is sleeping in her room holding her little panda bear, what will be here on this planet for her in 20 years? I am a Mom, I need to do something for my daughter, to make sure she is safe. I can’t breath. I can’t sleep. I can’t watch. I can’t read. I can't believe. I can't do anything. I can’t help. Why does no one care? What are we doing? Why are we doing nothing? Why is it all about money? How did it get so crazy? My hands tremble, I can’t breath, my heart hurts. My heart is breaking. What exactly the hell is happening? Please tell me, What is Happening?

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.