The Swamp logo

We Need to Calm Down

What we all need to change in ourselves and expect from others.

By Abigail OotenPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
My best friend and I at a Trump rally in 2017.

First, I want to say that regardless of color, gender, sexual orientation, political, or religious beliefs, everyone deserves to have their voice heard. My past experiences are based off my being a conservative female in a time when the loudest voices around me are often liberal and/or men. The people around me who are liberal and/or men have the exact same right as me to say their opinion and I generally do not feel oppressed or put down by these people.

Second, I want everyone who reads this to either relate to me or the people around me and become more aware of the other side. Saying what you believe tends to be a sticky matter and it can change relationships and friendships in an irreparable way. Everyone has more room to become better receptive to the other side of things. This is just my personal feelings in a time where I am just starting to actually get to say things for myself.

Growing up, my parents always pushed me to have my own opinions. They educated and taught me the way that they believe. However, they always told me to look up the facts for myself and make a decision. I grew up in a conservative Christian home, and I questioned everything my parents taught me. Not because I was a rebellious teenager, but because I wanted to be independent. Through my own findings, Christianity left the state of religion and became a part of who I am. Conservatism has done the same thing. I am majoring in Political Science at my college and every day I learn more about the things I am not most passionate about: human rights, abortion laws, sex trafficking, equality movements such as feminism. There are very few PS majors at my school, and less than half of those are women. My school has supported all of us the same, and my adviser, a man, helped me achieve many things academically and politically. I know I am lucky. I grew up in a "complete" family by traditional standards, I go to a good college, I will not graduate with severe college debt, and other than being a Christian woman, I am not part of any of the persecuted groups.

Despite having my family and friend's support, there have still been difficulties. I have had many Democrats and Liberals tell me that my opinion does not matter because I am not a minority. I have been told that I am anti-woman because I am pro-life. Every belief I have had, except for being against sex-trafficking, has been put down by someone on the other political side, multiple times. But no Democrat has ever had a debate with me or shown me where our differences lie. They have just attacked me verbally and left before giving me a chance to properly defend myself. From people on my own political side, I have been talked over by older people who say that I am too young to know what I truly believe. I have been ignored by men (of all races) who made it evident their opinions were more valued than my own. My experiences have not been severe, but they have been irritating.

Most likely every single woman who has any interest in politics knows exactly what I am going through. And honestly, most every man does too. In the political realm, we are constantly putting each other down and telling each other that our opinions do not matter. But the beauty of the political world started by our Founding Fathers, especially Thomas Jefferson and Alexander Hamilton, is that we can have differing opinions and still get along. Jefferson and Hamilton were basically political enemies, yet they still had dinners with their families and came together for things that mattered. Politics have become so aggressive that generally the Republican and Democrat side can barely stand to be near each other for long periods of time.

I am not claiming oppression. I am not saying that we need feminist movements, pro-choice movements, or any type of movement where people act out. I am saying we need to calm down. We need to act like adults who can get along and have civil discussions without bringing up politics. Even those my age and in college need to grow up. The time for debating is not over the dinner table, over kids soccer games, or at the church! Leave the politics where it belongs: careers, debates, and podcasts.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Ooten

I'm a small town girl from Alabama, who wants to be bigger than her small town. I'm currently a college softmore, and I love books and media, politics, education, and anything to do with the South.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.