The Swamp logo

Two Sides of a Coin

Heads or Tails?

By Clarissa AllenPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Heads or Tails?

There is something I have been wanting to talk about for a while now but never really knew how to put into perspective until recent events. In 2016 during Trump's election campaign his administration came to New Mexico to rally. Naturally I decided to experience it because it was something big happening in my hometown for once. First, I filmed the rallies against him, the crowds of people that included the local shirtless hippie known as "Skin Man" or "Naked Man". These rallies started peaceful, there were some younger adults revving their trucks with Mexico flags. There were thousands gathered and the energy was unlike anything I ever experienced. However, I wanted to see what both sides were like, the curious Virgo mindset I have. I wanted to know where both sides stood, what empowered them to have such overwhelming belief systems that angered them so. So I went inside of the rally to experience the other side. Inside was a MAGNETIC energy that I had never felt before, at the time it made me extremely uneasy. Their was power in the room I had never felt before. The entire crowd was energetic for the same common goal. It was unreal.

Things took a bad turn when the event ended. The protesters were so angry at the people coming out of the Convention Center, I can't remember what they screamed at the police guarding the building but I do remember the energy they shared. It was filled with hatred and confusion, angry that the country they thought they had fought so hard on for was taking a turn for corporate America like it had been for so many years. I think something both sides never consider is the commonality between their goals. Both sides want justice, both want peace, both want prosperity.

I've seen the energy come from both sides and I can't really say for anyone individually but I do see a lot of misguided energy getting put back into the universe. I'm not saying it comes from any particular "side". Though, I personally don't believe in sides because of I see the source of energy that comes from people. Its justice, love, truth and prosperity for all. No matter what you think the other side wants. I can promise you deep down all anyone really ever wants to do is live. I just pray with whatever forces of energy I have in my body that one day both sides realize this and stand up together for their brothers and sisters and try to teach them better instead of laugh in confusion and anger. We can grow so much if we come together, speak up, communicate, and let each other know what we want to build together. I have had intense conversations with all different walks of life with my little time here petitioning in Portland. People get so caught up in their daily lives they forget that at the end of the day everyone has a soul just like you do, everyone feels pain and suffering just like you did. We cannot truly go on from this experience with more pain and suffering. I mean is that not what we were all fighting against since the dawn of man? I cannot fathom how love and prosperity could ever come from going back to old selfish ways of building a wall around your heart. I hope one day peace, love, truth and prosperity rains down upon all of gods creatures so you can each replenish your heart with what it deserves.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.