The Swamp logo

Trump, Religion, and Harry Potter

Defying Mudblood Status

By Chelsea CheyennePublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like

At the end of the day, we all believe what we want to believe. And in a world so full of inconsistencies how does someone even keep up with the politically correct form of right and wrong? As a Christian-raised millennial, I grew up with two things: religion and Harry Potter. The first taught me about right and wrong, what will get you into heaven and what won’t, and how you should treat people. The second taught me that what is right is never easy, what will lead you down a promising path of life, and that everyone is the same and deserves equal treatment. From both, I learned that good always triumphs over evil in the end. So I hope it will this time, as well.

So how does this relate to today’s world? In every way possible. So I’ll now address the elephant in the room: Mr. Donald J. Trump. Following the November election, I was hopeful that we would be subjected to four years of golf vacations and no progress. While we were granted the first of those, it also came with the steady influx of backward progress – a complete contradiction of terms. I know – that forced me to realize something that I never, ever, wanted to believe. That we can no longer trust the people we’re paying to take care of us.

Because I don’t feel like any citizen of the United States is being taken care of. And every American that I know has been negatively impacted by the horror that is now taking up residence in the White House. You should never be forced to live in fear just because you happened to exist. The mere fact that you were born should not subject you to a life of cruelty and injustice. Yet there are people who believe that it should be so: whether it be the color of your skin, your cultural heritage, what you believe, or your sexual identity.

Thus, these four groups of people have become what is known in other universes, as Mudbloods. We are the 'less-than' – The unworthy. And in another world, we would be hunted down and killed for the status of our blood rather than honored for the boldness of our minds or the purity of our hearts. Unfortunately, we have created that other world. And while we are not known as dirty-bloods, we are known as something much more insulting: different.

In the real world there really is no such thing as a Mudblood, Blood-Traitor, Half-Breed, or so on. We do not possess the power or abilities (not to mention the imagination) to be born to Muggles, defy our Pure-Blood status, or be half-giant or a centaur. Rather so, we are known as black, Muslim, or LGBTQ. And while there is no Dark Mark hovering above the White House, I somehow always expect it to be there.

I sometimes think that I got off easy. I am a white Christian, a free pass to acceptance. So where is the booth for us to stop and hand our badge in? Because I don’t want a free pass. I want to stand up with those being discriminated because I resent the fact that in the twenty-first century of the “free world” black people are being murdered, Muslims are being blamed for everything, and LGBTQ clubs are being shot up. So who am I to deserve peace? And who would I be to accept it? To put it clearly, I would rather be a Blood-Traitor than a Death Eater. Even if it costs me my peace or even my life.

I attended a private Christian school for ten years of my life. The biggest lesson I took away from the experience is that people are terrible no matter what they believe. So find your tribe and stick to it. Find the people that you love, that love you back, and never let them go. Fight in the now because you believe in the future. Because the equivalent of Lord Voldemort is reclining in his leather seat in the Oval Office while the people who want the world to be a better place are suffering. They are the people who deserve peace, yet aren’t even offered it. They are the people fighting for what is right and being killed off by white supremacists. We are born into a life that we don’t get to choose, but in the wise words of Albus Dumbledore, “You fail to recognize that it matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.”

With a government of Lord Voldemort and Death Eaters, we must not turn away and hide. If your heart breaks for people that have no other option than to be discriminated against let it break, openly and freely. Because compassion and hope are the powers we possess to make the world a better place.

Don’t forget to love each other today.

“We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.”

president
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.