The Swamp logo

This Is Our America

What The Hell Is Going On Here?

By Rachel MercerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Dear Donald Trump,

When you decided to run for President, you had no idea how your term would end. Now, I need to tell you that I don't vote- I never have for personal reasons. Quite frankly, I don't care for politics. What I'm writing to you is ALL based on what the media tells us, whether it is true or not. With that, I was rooting for you. You chose a strong candidate for a VP. I was looking forward to seeing where the next four years would go.

I feel as though you did not receive fair judgment and support as our President. From day one, you were being looked at through a microscope, waiting to screw something up. Unfortunately, I think many Americans could not separate you from The Apprentice and the Oval Office. I wanted to see you make America great again, I did. I have never put myself on the right or left side because my thoughts are deemed somewhere in the middle.

I have researched the work you have done for our military and the economy. I know (or at least hope) you had good intentions telling us not to be so scared of Covid-19. Unfortunately, it has proved to be very hard to convince individuals who have lost loved ones to the virus.

I can appreciate that you believe in Americans keeping their rights and were honest about your skeptics on the mail-in ballot system. You have indeed said some stupid things and made your public social media posts too personal and offensive to many. Political views and beliefs are not the same for everyone. You pulled at the strings of many Americans.

Now, Donald, I could go on and on about the issues, concerns, he said/she said, the recent attack on the Capitol, etc. I'm sure by now you are thinking to yourself, "for someone who doesn't vote or like politics, this broad sure has a lot to say." I do believe you wanted to improve our nation, and I was silently rooting for you. If I'm 100 percent honest, I wish I was a fly on the wall. Is there corruption? Did you speak to us Americans with the best intentions? Were you being silenced? Were the media and the radical left making you look like an idiot and careless? Did you play a role in the attack on the Capitol, knowing you were on your way out (I hope you are a better human than to be so careless)? were you silenced and forced to remain out of the public's eyes and ears for the following days?

I suppose I could go on and on with questions in this letter until my fingers go numb, but would it even make a difference at this point? The last six months or so of your presidency was a shit show, and I'm sure that is putting it lightly. We have become so divided as a nation, it's sad. The few times I voiced an opinion or asked a question in the last few months on social media, the names, comments, and insults I received from strangers- and even some people I knew were unbelievable. Who would have thought we would be this way as a nation in 2020/2021? who even knows where we are going to be in the next few years?

I'm aware this letter may be read by others and maybe disgusted or angered. I could be lucky, and someone will agree with my point of view. I would like to know, if you could fix this- any of this, would you? Could you?

trump
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.