The Swamp logo

The Protest

George Floyd

By Alice BoswellPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Protest

My plan today and tomorrow was to stay in my apartment. Do nothing but rest and get some things done. I work three jobs every day and do other little tasks for others in my life. I needed the rest. Give my body a chance to relax and not be stressed out. The only person I would today see is a man who wants to give me a massage. Since that's not going happen: food, wine and movies were my weekend plan. That's a single life. Please note: Not by choice.

As I am sitting on my sofa, thinking about what to have for dinner, my Aunt calls. We chit chatted for a bit a, and during the conversation, I told her about Stella Rosa Green Apple wine and how good it is. She decided to go and pick up a bottle, pick me up a bottle, and pick up dinner for me as well. She calls me a few minutes later and says that there is a protest on 79th and Pulaski. Since these protests have started, I have not been able to participate or get photos for Just Me Magazine because I am always working.

Well, here's my chance. I get up and take off the relaxing clothes, put on street relax clothes, grab my camera, grab my keys, and out the door within minutes. I did not want to miss this one. Just as I was coming down Pulaski, the protesters were coming up, along with a dozen cop cars. I parked my car and started snapping pictures.

A small group, but productive and active, saying his name, "George Floyd." They were shouting and demanding justice and fairness. The police were following or driving beside them; I guess to keep order. But the way I see it, the order was destroyed not only by George Floyd's murder but also by many others before him.

As I was taking my photos to post on Facebook, a Brother, a cop, stated to me, "This is how a protest is supposed to be. No violence or looting." I inhaled, then exhaled and said to him, "I understand it though, over 400 years of oppression, people are tired, and some are just opening their eyes to what, I can only hope you should already know, the struggle we continue to go through as a race." He walks away. Damn. Maybe he was trying to flirt, and I just "F" this up. But again, he stated his truth, and I needed to say mine.

The protesters continued south on Pulaski. I planned to follow them, but when I came out of the restaurant with my food, they were long gone, and I needed to get to Binny's before they closed for more wine, and stop by Jewels to get me some flowers that give me solace.

activism
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.