The Swamp logo

The Day My Life Changed

What happened to “Let Freedom Rain”

By Chetwood JohnsonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Day My Life Changed
Photo by Mike Von on Unsplash

Was It Really a Good Morning?

It was around 7:30 am and there was a Florida overcast. I woke up feeling good, said my morning prayers, joyful to give God thanks, as I often do. I could smell the breakfast cooking on the stove and biscuits in the oven. At that moment I thought to myself today is going to be a good day. Albert called me to let me know we were going to have our meeting at our office instead of the client’s office. I called my brother Anthony, and asked him to pick me up. Anthony and I along with my high school friend, Albert started our sports advertising company just after college. We were about to sign a major contract with the NFL. The meeting today was going to be a laid back meet and greet. I informed the others, and told them to dress down as if it was game day, oh and put on your game face. Today was very exciting, although we were already very successful. Anthony arrived at my house at around 8:45 am, he comes in to get a bit of breakfast. We head out at 9:20 am, our office is in West Palm Beach, Florida. We get on the highway (I95) heading north, I call Albert to see what would be his E.T.A., he said in about 45 minutes and I’ll put on the coffee.

The Moment Life Changed.

So we are about 20 minutes into or journey and I commented on how nice Anthony kept his Mercedes Benz, he just purchased a 2020 Mercedes Benz S600. As we are approaching the Hillsboro Boulevard exit we hear the sirens go on, we pull off of the highway on to Hillsboro Boulevard and come to a complete stop in the turning lane. The police officer approaches the driver side window, and ask for license, registration, and insurance, Anthony complies. The next question asked is, are there any drugs or weapons in the vehicle, Anthony answers no. By this time two more police cars with two officers each arrive on the scene. The first officer, Officer Jim Dortley ask Anthony to step out of the vehicle, “for what reason” Anthony replied. In response officer Dortley said “ I need to remove the occupants from the vehicle for our safety and yours”. After Anthony exited the vehicle, officer Dortley asked me to step out, I complied. “Do you have any identification” he asked. I replied “ I have my drivers license with me”. Officer Dortley then returns to his vehicle to check our information. As we wait patiently, one of the other officers start to question Anthony. “Where do you live, where do you work”, Anthony replies “am I being detained”. No, the officer replies, and tells me to return to the vehicle. After about five minutes officer Dortley returned. Anthony asked officer Dortley if we were free to leave, officer Dortley replied “Not just yet”. Anthony asked “why are we being harassed, is it because we’re black and in a Mercedes”. Another officer replied “shut your mouth we’re just doing our jobs." Anthony very frustrated says “I’m going to sit in my car it is hot”., and I immediately here don’t move, pop-pop-pop-pop. I run around the car to grab my brother, who was lying on the ground shot 4 times. This is the moment life changed for me. One gun, one officer, and one bad attitude that has now changed lives forever.

By Josh Olalde on Unsplash

The Remembrance of those lost to us!

These stories are the ones we hear to often. We have lost many to the misguided hands of the law. We do not want to take away from the good officers, but the injustice has to stop. As I write this story I am remembering those who had no voice. Let remember together Michael Brown, Eric Garner, Philando Castile, Sandra Bland, Breonna Taylor, George Floyd, and many more that lost there voice, speak out now, be there voice.

controversies
Like

About the Creator

Chetwood Johnson

I am an innovator, entrepreneur, and critical thinker. I like to give people inspiration and ideas to make there life better. I started my journey in 2007 as I opened my first business in the dawn of the recession.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.