The Swamp logo

Thank You, Donald Trump

A personal letter.

By Tree LangdonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
5
Thank You, Donald Trump
Photo by Caleb Wright on Unsplash

It's been a difficult four years for all of us. I don't think the world is finished with you yet, and I hesitate to say your role in this great unfolding has come to an end.

I have a lot of things to share with you and a few ideas for the next few years, but first I have to say one thing.

I want to thank you for your service.

We are all here on this planet with gifts to share. Everyone's gifts are different and every single person has a contribution to bring to the whole.

I wasn't sure I understood your gifts at first, but on reflection, I can see them for the treasure they truly are.

You bring the gift of controversy. Your gifts are disruption and revelation.

I admire the strength of a spirit that was willing to accept this burden for this time on the planet. It took guts to become the tipping point for a powerful movement at this time in history. 

It took endurance to stand in the storm that was created.

Your appeal was broad enough to include a diverse selection of groups from traditional white supremacists, far-right militants, groups such as the Proud Boys, to the most contentious of all, QAnon.

You've been given many names, from savior to traitor, and you were willing to accept them all so their stories could be heard.

You allowed many voices that had been silenced and marginalized for generations to finally be recognized.

You opened the door for those that have felt ignored and you showed us their pain. The open door became an invitation that many accepted.

Some unexpected voices walked through the door as well.

It's possible to imagine every person on the earth has at least heard of you and has an opinion, informed by the media or by their personal experience on the planet.

You came with the intent to reach as many souls as possible. You came to share your message with everyone.

I would say you've succeeded. You've expressed your gift in a spectacular and very public way.

We won't soon forget you.

I admire your strength in choosing to be a lightning rod, standing firmly in your beliefs in the center of this debate. It took great courage to allow yourself to become such a target of acrimony and blame.

I see it has been easy to misunderstand and blame you for what is wrong in the world. It's so much easier to blame someone else. We were taught by our families and our cultures to do that. 

But that's not the way it's supposed to be.

We are both here, and we both believe that we are here for a reason. We both believe that the universe loves us. We believe we are special.

Many others believe in the same thing.

If that's truly the case, then all of us are here to connect so that we can heal each other. 

Some will continue to see things in black and white. It's easier that way. 

I understand.

We're all learning. I am too.

Every soul on the planet is learning and evolving.

In order to truly come to grips with injustice, we need examples of extremes.

Thank you for providing us with such a clear example.

Your ability to exaggerate your behavior, which in turn gave permission to others to escalate theirs, was a choice you made.

So much has been revealed by your gifts.

People need someone to push against, otherwise, we become complacent.

When injustice is a concept that never crosses our path, it's easy to become caught up in a comfortable spiral of consumption and achievement within our social bubbles.

While most people in the world have had some personal experience with social injustice, a lot of us did not.

Our lack of real understanding affected our motivation to act, resulting in a vicious circle that was leading to a worsening human rights situation in the world.

We needed a reminder.

There are other important things that you have shown us.

The truth about our neighbors has been brought into the light. They were trying to talk about their pain, but we were so wrapped up in ourselves we weren't listening.

We now see many of our friends and family are struggling with their journey. It's not something we are here to fix, but the fact that we can see it connects us.

If we are more connected, there is a chance of mutual understanding.

We are all at different stages in our learning. We are all living at a different level, and that's how it's supposed to be.

You stirred it up, upended our beliefs. You dumped the bucket so the sludge in the bottom has been let into the light. Some hard truths have been exposed.

What we do with these hard truths is now part of our individual paths.

But we are walking on this path together. We are walking side by side.

Every day, I try to remember one teaching.

We are not so different, you and I.

I am constantly reminded that there is no you and I, there is only us.

When we can recognize that we can truly heal together.

You and I came together to do very deep spiritual work.

We are both here in this time on the earth to learn from one another.

You are my teacher and I am yours.

It's the truth in our relationship that was meant to expose the places within myself that are disconnected.

You are revealing places within me that are disconnected from the universe.

It's painful to expose them, but now that they are exposed, I can begin to heal. 

Each of us looks at the world in a very different way.

When we have met our own trauma, we aren't afraid to see it in the world.

When we see it, we recognize it for what it is. It helps us understand.

We know everyone has their own timeline for healing, their own journey. I know I have to stay out of the way of another person's healing.

I'm not meant to fix them.

They have to find their own way.

I'm choosing to stand in allowance, 

I refuse to be pulled into the polarity of judgment, of right and wrong.

I know each person's response to the world is a manifestation of their own resolved trauma. I accept that as their truth.

I'm searching for ways to heal, not to bring others over to my side, not to show them what is right to believe. 

I am looking for ways to bring light and allowance into every conversation so we all feel safe in examining ourselves as we grow and live our lives.

Together.

So thank you, Donald Trump.

and remember, what happens between us isn't personal, it's divine.

Yours, in love

from The Rest of Us.

If you enjoyed this story, send me a tip so I can write another one.

Or share it on social media. Your recognition means a lot to me.

trump
5

About the Creator

Tree Langdon

Get an idea, a new word and a question.

For more, read my bio here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.