The Swamp logo

Stand Together

It's time to change this.

By Mia OPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Stand Together
Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

Word usually come easily to me. But the murder of George Floyd and the dozens of innocent black Americans...I just...for the first time in my life I truly don't know what to write to express my anger, bitterness, and heartbreak that I doubt time will ever mend.

Nothing I put to paper is capable of consolation or inspiration; it would be likes slapping on a flimsy Band-Aid on a searing bullet wound, or flesh charred by the ravaging wildfire of the systematic brutality and horror of this country's very fabric.

However, it's substantially better to stutter than be silent, to raise one's voice than to hide. Honestly, I don't even think the latter should exist in the face of horrific injustice like this.

All of my life, the beliefs handed down to me by my family have sheltered me in this picture perfect illusion, a delicate mirage. The American dream...if you work hard enough and aren't afraid to be bold...the world's yours to take on. Equity, equality of opportunity, makes that possible for every single beating heart with a dream. That's what my mother told me, anyway.

You don't need me to tell you how wrong she was.

Being a minority, rather in my case the "model minority", I've been conditioned to focus on things I could control. Always lectured that I couldn't change the world until I changed myself, a relevant sentiment, but here translating to keeping my head down and staying quiet if it doesn't impact me personally. Shun the world, they told me. Look out for yourself.

I thought I knew what fear was until my eyes, blurry with angry tears, scrolled down those news stories, the murder toll climbing, and climbing, and climbing. Trayvon Martin. Ahmaud Arbery. Kennedy Watkins. Breonna Taylor. George Floyd.

Say their names, LOUD, because they're not just nameless faces and printed letters. They were Americans, killed in cold blood, killed by not only the most heartless and disgusting of people, but also by the most hateful and disgusting system of oppression. A system we pretend not to hear, not to see, just because we don't feel it like a daily yoke on our shoulders, shoving us to the grounds, like chattel, like something less than human. Just because their murderers were "a few bad apples".

No, it's not just the apples, it's the tree, the roots of this country stained with the blood and tears and screams of slavery, seeded in every one of us awakening to it, every hateful pattern of thinking, every cruelty and every guilt. It was never completely gone, just marketed better in seemingly innocuous packaging with the most sinister of intents codified in our laws.

I beg you, and I shouldn't have to, but I am.

You can't just brush it off because you're not racist. That isn't, and never should have been, enough. You MUST be anti-racist, and assert it, stand up for it, fight for it...because if you don't...if we young people don't...who the hell will?!

How can you pledge allegiance to the flag when you couldn't even pledge allegiance to its values of justice, liberty, and humanity, to defend and love and raise your voice for your fellow citizens, for Americans? DO something about it instead of crying yourself to sleep.

SIGN the petition.

CALL directly to demand justice.

DONATE if you can.

PROTEST.

Be PROACTIVE, be WATCHFUL.

Pray, listen, and EDUCATE yourself, CHALLENGE your conditioned thinking and be empathetic to the sufferings of your brothers and sisters.

And make sure to hope.

Hope and work hard to END this, to stand up and shout for those who whisper, for those who can't, for those buried six feet under. As Martin Luther King Jr. proclaimed "Everything that is done in the world is done by hope".

So commit to it. Keep reading, keep sharing, keep talking, and don't give up hope. Ever.

Us Americans won't go down without a fight for what we believe in, for the values we cherish, for our compatriots, and for posterity. Don't give up, and when you find yourself doing so....say their names.

controversies
1

About the Creator

Mia O

"Here's looking at you, kid."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.