The Swamp logo

“Pay” Attention

Publix Supermarket’s Heiress

By Meg LagaresPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

On January 6, 2021, insurgents stormed the Capital. This is not new news. This is a fact. But what we are now learning about in the aftermath, is of the groups and the people that we may personally know or know of that were behind it. And how it was funded. This did not happen over night and most of these rioters did not have the means to leave their jobs mid-week, get an airline ticket last minute, pay for food and lodging, all on their own. Do you honestly think this money didn’t originate somewhere first?

One thing I will never forget, is the night before on January 5, I received a message from someone I knew, someone I had worked with, someone that I would have described as a sweet, grandmotherly, Christian person, who wrote “I’m taking my Glock to Congress”. I actually questioned her and asked if she meant that, she affirmed it, and I was shocked. What I didn’t know was what was about to transpire the next day. When I watched in horror, what was happening in real time inside the Capital of the United States, I couldn’t get out of my mind, her words..”I’m taking my Glock to Congress”.

The FBI has found and charged so many people who were involved that day; mostly due to people who turned in loved ones, neighbors, associates and co-workers. People stood up for our country and started to fight back and would not accept this unacceptable behavior.

The question is, how was the word spread beforehand? How did everyone know to grab their weapons and head to the Capital on January 6? And who paid them for their “beliefs”?

As things are still unfolding, I found out that the heiress of the Publix supermarket, Julie Jenkins, donated $300,000 in seed money. $300,000 of MY money when I shop in her store. $300,000 of the money I use to feed my family, donate to charities, help the poor and put food in my very own mouth. Publix had been one of my favorite supermarkets chains. I felt safe shopping there during the pandemic. The stores were always clean, the cashiers always helpful and they always stocked what I was looking to buy. Now I see nothing but hatred in the aisles.

I know it’s not the single store that I shop at in particular, however; if you are an owner, or part of an organization that affects the general public you bare responsibility. No matter what. End of story. You may hold different opinions than mine, but those have to be held close to your chest, otherwise there should be and will be consequences. I do and will blame you for giving $300,000 to spread evil and hatred.

There are many stores I do not frequent because of their religious and political beliefs. Do you know where you shop? Do you pay attention to where your hard earned money is going? Do you care? Will you be active in saying "no" and standing up for what is right?

We can not continue supporting companies that are hurting our country physically and mentally. We must break away from this unacceptable and disruptive behavior. Big corporations made their choices and I make mine.

That “sweet, grandmotherly, Christian” woman is no longer a personal friend of mine because of her hurtful views. I refuse to work along side her as well. She made her choice and I made mine. I don’t know if she went to the Capital that day but her words enough were full of evil and hatred. Why would I support a business that not only “brought their gun to Congress” but paid for so many others to do the same? Are you going to “pay” attention to where you spend your money? I know I am.

controversies
Like

About the Creator

Meg Lagares

Person of many talents; Actor, Vocal talent, Writer, Mom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.