The Swamp logo

Open Letter To Mr. Trump: Watching You From The Netherlands Makes Me Sick

How Donald Trump acts through the eyes of a Dutch woman.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Open Letter To Mr. Trump: Watching You From The Netherlands Makes Me Sick
Photo by Dave Sherrill on Unsplash

Dear Mr. Trump,

A Dutch woman here. Watching the USA news now and then, reading news from the USA almost every day.

I love the USA. Especially its countryside and its nature.

When I see the USA. I don't see its nature. I don't see this country in the small things. I don't see the real character.

I see the leader of the country. Constantly.

I am reading about the leader. Constantly.

A leader I can't tolerate.

A leader who is not a leader.

A leader who thinks about himself.

A leader who isn't there for his country.

This leader didn't lock down his country during the pandemic. This leader didn't give health supplies to the health care system. He spreads lies about what Coronavirus is, what the best health care is for this virus. He says just things that is not true. He gives false information to his citizens.

Your response with one case:

"We have it totally under control. It’s one person coming in from China, and we have it under control. It’s going to be just fine."

With 11 cases you have said:

"Looks like by April, you know, in theory, when it gets a little warmer, it miraculously goes away. I hope that’s true. But we’re doing great in our country. China, I spoke with President Xi, and they’re working very, very hard. And I think it’s going to all work out fine."

With 51 cases you have said this:

"The Coronavirus is very much under control in the USA. We are in contact with everyone and all relevant countries. CDC & World Health have been working hard and very smart. Stock Market starting to look very good to me!"

On February 28, with 60 cases, you have said:

"Now the Democrats are politicizing the coronavirus. … One of my people came up to me and said, ‘Mr. President, they tried to beat you on Russia, Russia, Russia.’ That didn’t work out too well. They couldn’t do it. They tried the impeachment hoax. That was on a perfect conversation. They tried anything, they tried it over and over. … And this is their new hoax."

On March 14 there are 4,632 cases, and 85 deaths, you have said:

"My administration is recommending that all Americans, including the young and healthy, work to engage in schooling from home when possible. Avoid gathering in groups of more than 10 people. Avoid discretionary travel. And avoid eating and drinking at bars, restaurants and public food courts. If everyone makes … these critical changes and sacrifices now, we will rally together as one nation and we will defeat the virus. And we’re going to have a big celebration all together. With several weeks of focused action, we can turn the corner and turn it quickly."

On March 24, 53,736 cases, 706 deaths, you said:

"Easter is a very special day for me. And I see it sort of in that timeline that I’m thinking about. And I say, wouldn’t it be great to have all of the churches full?"

So, I'm not going to set any other quotes you said or wrote on Twitter. I mean, what can I say? I don't even want to say anything, but my obligation as writer is to say something. On the other hand, I also want to tell you, from the other side of the world, I think it is disgusting that a leader of a country

How could you say to stay home if possible when there are more than 4000 cases in the USA? How can the leader of a country not just lockdown its country to protect people, to help health cares do their job without collapsing down themselves of working too much, because they have too much work to do as there won't be other health carers stepping in for them.

In 10 days, there are so much more cases that it is too much for those health carers. What are you doing? Totally nothing. Really nothing. Just saying something and all that makes no sense at all.

Who are suffering really?

I know the answer: your citizens, sir.

Oh, yes, another thing that happened in the last few weeks. Do you remember? George Floyd died. Do you remember how? I know how. He died because of a police officer put his knee on George Floyd's neck, for 8 minute and 46 seconds. Too long.

'I can't breathe', is what he said.

This leader did not stand in front of the crowd and standing there together with the black people. He is not talking to his citizens when they really need him when black people are murdered. When black people need a leader to help them face this injustice and inequality issues.

What does the leader of the USA? Standing in front of a church with the Bible on its head, and he had police officers chase protesters away. That is not what a leader should do. Leader should read the bible with the protesters.

There are a lot of more to say, but I leave it for now. You have a lot on your plate right now. To make America great again. Well, good luck with that. Because I believe that it doesn't work out for you in the way you're doing it right now.

trump
1

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.