The Swamp logo

My portion of a random social media debate on increasing USA violence

Lightly edited for clarity & privacy.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
"Taxed" from one of my new all-time favs, Gerd "Geralt" Altmann; via Pixabay. I may use him exclusively for "stories" that I can't find original pics for in my personal photo library on my mobile devices. Please be so kind as to give his work even just a cursory glance. Thx in advance!

23FEB2022; 0945, WED

There's a lot of 17 year olds in the U.S. military. They all have guns.

Inanimate objects aren't the problem. It's the evil, desperation, and hopelessness inside of our youth that's the problem.

We have practically no personal positive male role models; few dads in the homes; and very little incentives to attempt to be upstanding citizens. Forget the feasibility of the knowing next to nothing about socioeconomics.

They can sense the global economy being on a precipice. Why work your ass off for peanuts and pocket lint, when purchasing power is rapidly decreasing?

The babies are hungry today, and the meager check that I'm cashing tomorrow could become completely worthless while I'm on the bus to the bank? "Seems legit..."

***

[Redacted due to privacy], where in the world are you getting your info?? What role models?

Jobs that nobody else wants, for the most part? Also, isn't 18 y/o technically an adult?

How do you claim that we have fathers when most Black men of my generation are either dead/in jail? Please make it make sense.

Oh, yeah when I almost died in Iraq on 1JAN2010, my job was strictly killing. Not repairing tanks; not triaging; & damn sure not cooking.

Please don't come at me with your paper thin philosophies; because I'm not the one. Thx.

***

[Ibid], that's quaint. Cute actually.

Pray tell, and for the sake of sounding ignorant: How many NYT (New York Times) pieces of late recommend ending the debacle that is the war on drugs? Which, of course overwhelmingly effects Blacks (re: "The New Jim Crow" by Michelle Alexander; 2010).

How many Black men of my generation are literally and incredulously incapable of being dads? Many due to their deaths at the hands of police.

I have a sneaking suspicion that it's none, in regards to the NYT. And feasibly more than one or two in respect to the young Black dads resting in perpetuity right now (because of racist cops).

I've been wrong before tho!

***

[Ibid], blatant falsehoods; in regards to the inanimate objects in the hands of minors being the issue. Who aren't children at all, by the way.

I'm pretty sure that more than one actual child has saved lives in America with the responsible use of firearms. My apologies for missing your comment with all the stats.

I somehow presumed that if I got two notifications from you back to back, one of them must be a glitch or something. Reading it now, Ma'am.

By the way, if we weren't getting locked up and killed for nonviolent drug offenses, I'm pretty sure that we could be much more efficient fathers. There'd be no debate as to our inherent value, IMHO (In My Humble Opinion).

***

[Ibid], we know that the system is rigged against us. Even still, we do almost everything in our power to remain Willfully Ignorant; Extremely Gullible; and Overwhelmingly Apathetic! M

As the colloquialism goes: "Where they do that at?"

***

[Ibid], patently false as well, unfortunately. We don't keep stats on lives saved by children; or civilians in general for that matter.

Conversely, if we still taught gun safety to children regularly instead of demonizing an INANIMATE object, for goodness' sake...

***

[Another individual], someone understands!

***

[Second individual, again], thx. It (the draft)'s technically still in effect.

Especially when we look at the economy. We need "real deal Holyfield" reform from the top down.

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support however you see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

social media
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.