The Swamp logo

My Latest Thoughts About President Biden

The reasons why I’ve lost faith in him

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

I’ve stated many times in previous stories that I wasn’t going to talk about the Covid-19 pandemic anymore, but since health experts, the government, and most governors continues to milk this whole crisis, I have many strong opinions about the 46th president of the United States. I swear this would be the final time I ever talk about this. Many of us, me included, have since moved on from the pandemic. We have been cooped up at home and isolated for over a year and a half. I’ve been a Democrat for years, but some of the things that President Biden have said and done makes me not like him. The following below are the reasons why me and the majority of the country have lost confidence in him.

Vaccine Mandates: Last month, President Biden announced that private employers with more than 100 employees must force them to get vaccinated, submit to weekly testing, or get terminated. His announcement received a lot of backlash, mainly from Republican governors. This is outrageous and ridiculous on so many levels. No one should ever choose between making a living or getting the shot. These are people who worked their entire lives (most of them) to support themselves and their families. For example, health care workers last year were hailed as heroes. Now, they’re being bullied to get a vaccine that they don’t want. To me, getting vaccinated is a personal choice and not to be forced by anyone. Many GOP governors stated that they’re threatening or planning to sue the Biden Administration, calling the vaccine mandates draconian, unconstitutional, and a government overreach. I can see this ridiculous mandate reach all the way to the Supreme Court and possibly be struck down. No one should be bullied or pressured to get the shots if they don’t want to. As of the writing of this story, 4.3 million people have quit their jobs because of this asinine mandate. The point is that it’s our bodies, our decisions.

Incentives for Getting Vaccinated: I’ve always considered these so-called “incentives” as bribes, because that’s what they are. If you really want to encourage people to get the shot, enticing them with cash, scholarships, etc., is not the best solution. It’s one thing to recommend and educate people to get vaccinated, but it’s another to lure people to do it.

Forced Vaccinations: President Biden had previously said that his patience was wearing thin with those who are still unvaccinated. Also, he went on to say that their refusal to get the shot is costing the lives of others. No, Mr. President. We’ve already lost patience with you, your administration, and the CDC. The reason why most Americans don’t want to get vaccinated is because of the mixed messages and constant lies from the aforementioned people, they have medical conditions or religious beliefs, and finally, because they just don’t want to. I don’t know why it’s so wrong to say no to a Covid vaccine. It’s very appalling that the president has the audacity to shame the unvaccinated, because he doesn’t know everyone’s medical history. He think that he’s a doctor and his “one size fits all” approach works for everyone, especially when it comes to getting more people inoculated. President Biden should try compassion instead of coercion and understanding instead of intimidation. For many people, having a good immunity system is their vaccine.

Proof of Vaccination: In several countries, you would have to show that you’ve been fully vaccinated or a recent negative Covid test in order to enter gyms, bars, restaurants, and other venues. They do that by using something called “vaccine passports” or “health passes”, which have been controversial. Here in the United States, states like New York and California are requiring residents and visitors to show proof of vaccination to enter certain places. Me personally, I don’t feel comfortable sharing my vaccination status to complete strangers, especially through an app. Whether I’m vaccinated or not is no one’s business. It’s an invasion of my privacy. No one should be left out of society for not sharing sensitive information. I just want to go out and enjoy myself. As a cosplayer, I won’t be attending conventions who ask for proof of vaccination and implement other restrictions. I don’t care what their intentions are. The only people who need to know about my vaccination status is me, myself, and I.

“Lockdowns”: I despise this term for many reasons, but the main reason is because our lives shouldn’t be interrupted or put on hold. We’ve had past pandemics and life went on as usual. This pandemic in general had already taken a huge toll on my mental health and others. Being isolated and increasing lonely had me contemplate taking my own life several times, as if it was my fault that this crisis was happening. As someone who has been dealing with mental health issues for almost 10 years, I feel for those who have been and still suffering due the effects of the pandemic. I also feel for the children who had to do remote learning and unable to see their friends for a long period of time. Mental health doesn’t discriminate, because it affects kids, too. Locking down the country to me was a big mistake. People deserve to live their own lives as they wish. I was away from work with pay for 16 months before returning in late June. President Biden previously said at the earliest stages of the pandemic that he understood how everyone felt, regarding people’s desire to go out and enjoy themselves. He doesn’t know how we’ve been feeling. There’s millions of people suffering from mental illness and he has the nerve to say something like that. Should another pandemic takes place in this county, it should never shut down again.

The continuing promotion of vaccines: I’m so tired of the CDC, health officials, experts, and President Biden and his administration for continuing to promote vaccines. That’s what they’re doing all over the media and it’s turning into a promotion. As I’ve mentioned before, there are millions of people who refuse to get vaccinated, which is their right. The government doesn’t have any say of how we take care of ourselves. There are two types of people: the ones who want to live their lives as they wish and the ones who just want to be left alone. He’s been touting to all of us to “follow the science” whenever he talks about anything related to the pandemic. “Follow the science”, in the mind of President Biden, is just code for “I’m going to control the American people and make them obey my commands.” Last I checked, he’s not a doctor, hasn’t done a residency program, or practiced medicine. I can say the same for these Democratic governors. I rather take advice from a medical professional who’s not named Dr. Fauchi than a politician. Besides, we follow the truth and not facts.

People don’t like being told what to do. I feel like he’s implementing these ridiculous and draconian vaccine mandates as a distraction from the backlash he’s currently facing. Not only from this, but his approval rating has drastically dipped, the border crisis, and the way he handled the withdrawal of troops from Afghanistan. Last time I checked, we’re Americans. People have being emotionally and physically exhausted of taking safety measures since the start of the pandemic. We’re living our lives freely and yes, we’re going to celebrate the holidays with our families and loved ones. I don’t care what flip-flopper Dr. Anthony Fauchi says. I’ve never been a fan of his, because I don’t believe anything that comes out of his mouth. This is why a majority of us don’t trust the media or government. This pandemic was never about safety or “following the science”, but all about the government controlling us. If I had to describe 2021 so far, it would be a hot mess. I made the decision to change my party affiliation from Democrat to Libertarian. I’ll do a future story about me becoming a Libertarian and the issues I strongly support. One of the things I’ve always disliked about the government was them interfering with our personal lives and making decisions for us. Again, we’re adults and we can make decisions for ourselves.

These draconian vaccine mandates are only dividing us even further. I’ll probably get some backlash from writing this piece, but I stand firm of my opinions about President Biden. I refuse to take orders from a president who has abused their authority over and over again. People who identify as Republicans might agree with me on the things I’ve just discussed. I’m proud and grateful to live in this amazing country. Our freedoms and liberties are important to us. Stand your ground and remember, you are Americans.

president
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.