The Swamp logo

Letter to a local, corrupt pol

With heavy emphasis on the corruption

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Pic cred: The one and only Gerd "Geralt" Altmann. I'm a huge fan of his work on Pixabay. Completely free and without express need for attribution. Please show him some Love too. Thx in advance.

25JUN2022; 1818, SAT- Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA.

Dear Representative Steny Hoyer,

As a combat Vet that's a constituent of yours, I'm obligated to inform you that your four decade plus career exemplifies what's wrong with this seemingly Godforsaken nation. Take a seat and a headache reliever now; word to the wise.

Majority Leader of the House of Representatives; wherein majority of you so-called leaders can't even remotely begin to relate to the peeps you reportedly rep. "Good show, old chap!"

How many current U.S. Congressmen and Congresswomen have ever been enlisted; electricians; or even employed outside of a law firm? "Not very many at all", you say?

Funny how everyone of us has to live under y'all's edicts tho. Fav colloquialism these days: "The math ain't mathing!"

Your children don't have to worry much about any of the seven major shortages; as I call them. Quickly: Fuel; housing; labor; semiconductor chips (for new cars); baby formula; food; and pilots.

Speaking of which tho, don't you pols get something like lavish healthcare, guaranteed pension, and usually painless job security for life? Must be nice.

Whether you want to believe it or not, Big Shot, I watched a significant portion of your appearance on Jonathan Capehart's show. The same by MSNBC, of course.

What in the actual [expletive]? My main recollection was that you were pushing the "guns, bad; control, good" narrative more than anything.

Before we get to more of your apparent anti-Freedom philosophies: Your hot take on the Justice Kavanaugh assassination/protection controversy. "I don't know why we can't unanimously pass an extra security bill prior to the weekend recess."

So, the U.S. Senate can expeditiously ace this matter; on the merit of the plot to kill a sitting member of the United States Supreme Court. Meanwhile, Congress is just being Congress.

Oh me; oh my. Back to your incessant demonization of inanimate objects.

We lowly peeps get to subsidize the protection of you and yours. In the meantime between time, we and our children have to rely on faith for fortitude against flying projectiles from firearms (I couldn't resist).

On the real tho, I can leave my hometown of Prince George's, aka Pistol Grip County for a Tour in the Sandbox with all kinds of responsibilities that I'm not quite 110% ready for. Heaven forbid I wanna buy my service sidearm had I gotten hit before my 21st Born Day, however!

Wouldn't want a trained and disciplined serviceman having, nor exercising his God given right to selfdefense. When you told Mr. Capehart that we don't need criminals or youth finding weapons too loosely secured, I bout fell out.

How many of your constituents'd still be alive and well if they were legally allowed to defend themselves with items that happen to be at the core of this country's history? More than one or two, I'd wager; were I a betting man.

I'll be a "mere smidge" more frank, so as to state that I genuinely believe you and your a-alikes are just entirely too pot-committed on your insider trading; as well as general hypocrisy. It's nearly pity worthy, IMHO (In My Humble Opinion).

How in the name of Uncle Sam's Capitol Hill did I forget to mention that infamous revolving door with corporate America? Lobbying is largely legalized bribery for companies who don't mind smooches from liaisons to power and corruption.

Liberty be damned. I guess that it couldn't hurt to try to end this "brief" missive on a positive note.

There's arguably an extremely positive aspect or two to you and your leadership too. Based on what I gleaned from the "By the Numbers" section of your website; at least.

The subtitle of the section is "2021 Year in Review". Maybe let's remove the newsletter views section off this year's numbers in exchange for some real change; by and by?

Free correspondence from me either which way; and all the live long day. To a sweeping victory over whomever come primaries (July 19, 2022).

With the utmost sincerity,

Darrius Unity: former U.S. Army Sniper (Ret.); concerned parent (2x); & (essentially) lifelong Marylander.

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

corruption
3

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was so well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.