The Swamp logo

Kneeling During the Anthem Is a Respectful and Peaceful Way to Protest

I support kneeling during the anthem.

By Raymond E. Strawn IIIPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

I support kneeling during the anthem. It's a peaceful form of protest. It is respectful (explained further later). It's a Constitutional right protected under the First Amendment.

During high school, back in 2002, I use to sit during the Pledge of Allegiance. I was protesting. My teacher would ask me to stand. I refused. Later my parents found out and told me to stand because I was putting a large target on myself and bringing the wrong kind of attention. You see, in 2001 I was falsely arrested. The police violated my rights and instead of admitting to their mistakes, they left me in jail, hoping I plea. I did not and was found not guilty. After the verdict, I filed a lawsuit. That was what my parents were referencing about, having a target on me and wanted me to stand. I was protesting and that is why I wanted to sit.

Now I am a father and I didn't want to bring negative attention when I was with my children, so I decided to stand during the anthem. I didn't want to though. But back then, it was unheard of to sit during the anthem. Now with so much attention on kneeling during the anthem, my children being older, and the continue oppression from law enforcement, I decided I'll start protesting again by kneeling.

Suing someone in law enforcement is dangerous. I was bullied and targeted by law enforcement. It was so bad, my lawyer had to drop out because of the threats to him and his pregnant wife. I did not want my lawyer to drop the case, but my lawyer did and that was the end of my lawsuit.

Even with the lawsuit dropped, I still dealt with mistreatment by law enforcement. Over the years, I would be walking down the street and be stopped and searched by law enforcement, mainly because of my skin tone and the way I dressed. I had an incident happen two years ago with my daughter. A police officer was being rude in front of my daughter. I was embarrassed and uncomfortable. I'm used to mistreatment by the police, but not in front of my kids. My daughter eventually ran off, to the point I couldn't see her anymore. I asked the police officer if I could go after my daughter. The police officer said no and illegally detained me. I filed a complaint with the police officer's sergeant. The sergeant verbally abused me and refused to take my complaint. Therefore, I support kneeling.

I am not anti-police either. Last year, as President of the Psychology Club and Vice President of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, I helped organized an event at my community college to show appreciation and gratitude to local law enforcement by creating goodie bags. I even went out and helped deliver them to a local station. I am willing to show respect towards law enforcement, is it wrong for me to ask for the same in return?

The biggest argument I see about kneeling during the anthem is how disrespectful it is. When has taking a knee been a sign of disrespect? Genuflection is taking a knee in a gesture of respect. Knights use to take a knee to pledge allegiance and show respect and loyalty to the lords. In religious ceremonies, taking a knee may be considered more respectful. During a proposal, a person taking a knee is a sign of respect and surrendering.

On June 11, 2004 US Navy Captain James A. Symonds presented former First Lady Nancy Regan with the folded American Flag from her late husband, Former US President Ronald Reagan. US Navy Captain Symonds presented the folded flag taking a knee, according to the National Archives and photos taken during the event. If taking a knee is so disrespectful, why would a US Navy Captain take a knee when presenting a folded American flag from a former US President to his wife?

The narration that taking a knee is a sign of disrespect is factually and historically inaccurate. Taking a knee is a sign of respect.

I apologize if you feel uncomfortable with people kneeling during the anthem. But I wonder, will you burn jerseys, create bans, and express passionate dialogue when US citizens are mistreated? Clearly not. This is why we kneel. You want us to stand during the anthem, then stand with us when we demand positive change, respect, and fair and equal treatment in our country.

activism
Like

About the Creator

Raymond E. Strawn III

I am a father of three, raising two more as my own. I am a full-time student pursuing law school. I write poetry and working on my memoir. I have PTSD, social anxiety, and depression and have a blog about it: https://lwptsd.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.