The Swamp logo

Just another day in the USA.

Pandemic Unemployment frustration of a single mom.

By SinPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

I got the same again yesterday. I filed for UI on 3/24-applied for PUA on 4/10- in between 3 days and 3 reps supposedly called me to “complete” my claim by phone. Everyone said ok and I was eligible for a little. 4/21 inbox labor email writes I was turned down for UI and even though I received an email from them, which I saved, that says I was eligible for pandemic. This is like 5 weeks wait. Tells me to apply for pandemic and has a form waiting for me to fill out. I apply for pandemic again on 4/22- pending until yesterday- when I received 2 letters in the mail. Also 2 emails 1) saying my pandemic was incomplete with a link to fix it. I go to link and fill all out. Then the letters 2nd saying that they needed more info on income and jobs. then a letter as well as an email that I was turned down (dated 4/22 mailed) it says. Mailing date not stated I receive a second letter in the mail telling me to validate my claim and claim credit for first week for pandemic 3/22-3/28- which means this had to have been mailed right before then. Yesterday I get 2 emails before I checked snail mail. One of the emails said eligible for $182. Second email said and complete a link to online questions but that pandemic would start in up to 3 weeks after my file date of i was found to be eligible. Remember, I filed back on 3/24 initially. But they are going on 4/22 recognizing that as my file date. I get on the computer again and sign in- fill out more question and guess what my claim is completed. This is no joke the 6th time my “claim has been completed”; each letter or email contradicting the previous and me still bugging out like are we gonna be ok- or we gonna be homeless? If we are going to get by, then when might something came this way? We were already living paycheck to paycheck. I too had recently returned to work force full time out of need. Interviewed for a year before taking the tier 2 personal trainer position and choosing to commute to nyc again which I’ve not done for work in about 20 years. There is no savings, investments or retirement- so i guess either I connect with another person who sets my soul on fire and get remarried (which is something I’d like again someday) or full time w/ benefits (this has been my main focus); I get my LLC off the ground and I’m finally able to start a 401k or something; my poor kids have to take in their burdensome mom cause I won’t be able to afford the senior living homes; I move to another country or I travel to oregon at the end for an assist. Gruesome kinda to be in your 40’s; feel like you are 15; and be scared to death of what will happen to you if you live to reach 70. And ultimately, I have no idea which UI or PUA to believe now. It sucks, not just cause this is just one aspect of things I’m coping with, but because of all of the people in the same boat. I’m a statistic and right now it feels like I’m a drop in the bucket on this one. Shout out if this story resonates!

finance
2

About the Creator

Sin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.