The Swamp logo

I Think I Understand

I can never understand, but I can always try

By Dios MacPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
https://www.vectorstock.com/royalty-free-vector/yin-yang-dragons-vector-15150337

Dear people that used me to build a country,

I think I understand.

I think I'm starting to get why you took me from my home to create yours.

I think I'm starting to see why you work so hard to make me think less of myself. I think I understand why you felt you needed to enslave and torture me.

I think I understand.

As a black man in my natural state, I am god in human form.

And no, not the god you forced on me. I mean the pure, natural, loving, and creative energy that exists in everything.

I think I understand.

When you saw me in all of my glory, you decided I was not someone to befriend, but something to tame. So that is what you did, by any means necessary.

I think I understand.

In my natural state, I was love, peace, and unity. So when you came to me I welcomed you like I always have, and that is with tranquility. Litte did I know of your hostility.

I think I understand.

When you encountered a love, peace, and unity this powerful, and it didn't exist in your society, you tried to harness it. You tried to hold me tight with out a thought of letting me go. Never really looking for the love, peace, and unity within you.

I think I understnad.

Even after you captured me and I jumpred from your boats or screamed in terror in a language forgotten, you held on. You tightened your grip. You knew my power and my greatness so you used it to build a country upon me. Anytime I moved in my natural freeness you hung me from a tree. By the 1's

2's

and 3's.

How many ways can't I breathe?

I think I understand.

You murdered generations of me and some how my love, peace, and unity makes me believe you are part of me. You beat a language into me that I couldn't speak, and now I hear you even when I think. You raped my wife and my kids in front of me, and some how, now, I'm supposed to live comfortably. Buy why? How?

You never let me be.

I build your country for free, and today you still hang me.

I think I understand...

This must all be a test I needed to remember who I am. I must have needed your mistreatment to understand the darkness of me. I am still love, peace, and unity, but the truth is you are the otherside of who I am. You even label me with words that you know are you:

Calling me black when you exhibit darkness.

Calling me n****r when you display ignorance.

You call me poor when you came to me to get rich.

I think I understand.

I have to come to terms with what you did to me. I feel you do to. I know who and what I am now, and I know you need me. I will never harm you because that is not who I am. I am not seeking vengence, I just would like to return to my peace. You are more than welcome, but you have to love yourself so you can love me. I accepted you when you didn't accept yourself. I know that may have been confusing. But if you let me guide you, I can help you find your peace.

I think I understand.

You are the yin to my yang, and we should exist harmoniously. We are actually one, you just didn't see how it was possible that I was you.

controversies
3

About the Creator

Dios Mac

I am an artist of many expressions. I offer my understanding of myself, the world, and the human experience in my work. I hope what ever I express in my work finds you in the best of spirits and helps you along your journey. Love always.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.