The Swamp logo

I am a Feminist Republican

Yes, they do exist.

By Marisol LunaPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Since the dawn of Donald Trump's reign, people have been put into boxes based on face values. If you are a woman and want your rights, you must be a Democrat. Right? Right?? Actually, as oppposed to popular opinion, you don't have to be an extremist and follow every single point on the platform of a party. In fact, I don't think there is anyone who isn't a terrorist who stands firm on either side of the spectrum.

I am a white female born and raised in a Catholic/Nondenominational family. I've been taught gun safety and have been going to the range since I was old enough to pull a trigger. My 21st birthday present to myself will be taking a concealed carry class, not getting wasted in a bar because I am not a pepper spray kind of girl. I believe that guns are the number one tool in equality and freedom, so long as the person using them does not turn them into weapons. Our constitution gives us the right to defend ourselves against those who wish to harm us, even if that entity is our own government.

However, my right to equality does not end at being able to own a rifle. An AR-15 isn't going to regulate my body, now is it? What a lot of old, white male republicans don't understand is, frankly, what being a woman is like. This is where I start leaning away from them and start doing a little jog towards the center. Birth control is a highly-discussed topic right now, and honestly it comes down to I should be allowed to not be miserable for a quarter of my life. Birth control shouldn't even be called birth control. It should be called uterus control because it is one of few things that not only prevents unwanted pregnancies, but also regulates when it decides to start spouting blood, removes side effects such as cramps, back pains, and headaches, and reduces the amount of flow a woman will experience. An old white man certainly wouldn't understand why these things are so important to us, and thus don't understand why birth control is so necessary for the majority of women.

Kind of in the same field is the topic no one wants to discuss: abortion. I believe what makes me a Republican over a Demcorat is the fact that I am pro-life. However, unlike a lot of my Republican counter parts, I understand that what other women choose to do with their bodies is none of my business. I just choose to hope that people will choose life. I at least hope that the cut off for having an abortion is brought back at least before the halfway mark. Most women who are pro-choice use the argument of not wanting to go through pregnancy due to the changes that happen to their bodies. If you're past 20 weeks and suddenly decide you want an abortion, you've already gone through a lot of the bodily changes and most of your argument for allowing abortions. At that point, it is my belief that you owe it to the fetus to at least give it a chance at life and a loving family. If you just found out you were pregnant and immediately decided an abortion was the right way to go, that's your choice and you should have that choice. I guess just don't wait until your pile of cells becomes a baby?

The final point of how I am a Feminist Republican comes down to the source of the division between the parties: President Trump himself. I voted for Donald Trump. That's right. As a feminist, I voted for Trump. If I were to say this out loud on my college campus, I'd be attacked and probably burned at the stake. Which is only partially why I voted that way to begin with - for a party that prides itself on being open minded my democratic friends are some of the most judgmental people I've ever met. As far as Trump is concerned, I would never back up such an ill-tempered, childish, fly-by-the-seat-of-his-pants man. I think he disrespects women of all colors and shouldn't have access to a Twitter account. However, he supports the police (whose ranks I will join one day), is pro-gun, pro-life, and represents a party I mostly identify with. I believe our country is ready for a female president, just not that female, if you know what I mean.

All in all, I think that putting people into boxes takes away from the whole point of America. You can be whoever you want to be and believe whatever you want to believe. There are plenty more reasons why I am a Feminist Republican, including the idea of rugged individualism, immigration laws, the movement towards closing the wage gap, and many more. I guess the point I'm trying to get across is that I have my beliefs, but I won't force them down your throats. All I ask is you show me the same respect. The path to unifying our country starts and ends with us. The people.

women in politics
Like

About the Creator

Marisol Luna

I am a 19 year old criminal justice student in the state of Michigan. I am an avid poet and enjoy expressing my opinions on all sorts of platforms. If you're into Meyer Briggs, I'm an ENTP, so if you're looking for a debate I'm your girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.