The Swamp logo

How To Be The Most Convincing Towards Others During BLM

There is no more hate in my heart.

By AceadiaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
How To Be The Most Convincing Towards Others During BLM
Photo by Michelle Ding on Unsplash

There is no more hate in my heart.

Okay that's a lie. I make a million mistakes in 12 hours alone.

There's so much hate in the world. I think it's terrifying for many of us to even watch what's happening in our community and feel so little control over it. We all have good hearts that care, and it can be overwhelming.

So I focus on everything I can do to help. I focus on being the best human being I can and spreading that into the world. I focus on using social media to be a peaceful voice. To help how I can.

I feel like someone is trying to be passive aggressive to me.

There is no more hate in my heart.

I feel other people are assuming the worst of me and pointing it out again.

There is no more hate in my heart.

I focus on how I just lost money due to believing someone who was such a kind human being to me.

There is no more hate in my heart.

Everytime I say that one phrase, all this negative charged energy I had, is released. All these examples are over stupid little shit. But it all starts with the small things.

I see how horrible hate can direct other's actions. I don't want it in the world, so I don't let it exist within me.

I see so much anger all over social media. There's people that are asking others to unfriend them, block them, delete them, leave if they don't believe or see X, Y, or Z.

I see many stories being taking out of context. Many clips that start twisting the truth. It feels as if people are waiting for the other side to do something wrong. So they can catch them in the act and share that with others.

What if being divided is other people want? So we lose and they win?

We might have different opinons, but that doesn't mean we should hate each other. I don't agree with many things people are saying right now. But I still love them.

We're all more than a perspective we have towards a situation. We're so much more than our beliefs. We're people.

That friend I had when I was younger, that danced the craziest, and checked up on me when I needed it, isn't dismissed because she believes something I do not believe.

We all just want what we think is right. Maybe no one is wrong, maybe no one is right. Maybe it's all a huge mix of opinons that we need to work with together through deeper understanding to solve the general problem. It is only through this viewpoint I see the ability to work with all opinons and have any influence. If I just point at someone and say YOU'RE WRONG. I don't see how far I can ever go.

They say, "this is what the media won't show you." We see videos of protesters hugging police officers, videos of others stopping rioters, videos of all the good that's happening throughout this.

But the truth is, I needed a, "this is what you won't allow yourself to see" video.

I had my beliefs. I didn't want to believe anything else. So when I saw videos I didn't want to see, I judged it. Pushed it away. I wouldn't listen to anything that wasn't what I wanted to see.

But how does that help? How does that make any more peace in the world? How does it help me understand all sides?

When I realized that it didn't at all... I began to watch all videos. Videos I didn't want to see. Instead of getting mad, judging, saying that this is out of context (even if sometimes it was), I would stay uncharged emotionally. Just watch. Just see everything. Just try and understand others.

Because how am I to ever convince someone else if I can't understand them?

We all want what we believe is best.

But when I see all this screaming, yelling, agression...I can't help but wonder if that is the most convincing approach?

If someone yells at me to change my beliefs, I'm offended before I can even listen. And I don't really care to listen to anyone that yells at me.

Fear can control others. In a weak way.

But love, compassion, that moves mountains and convinces people far more than hate ever will.

controversies
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.