The Swamp logo

HOW CAN THEY ADJOURN?

Leaving Constituents Without HELP?

By Arlene PittsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
HOW CAN THEY ADJOURN?
Photo by Tiffany Tertipes on Unsplash

I don't get it. I really don't! I'm a United States citizen, worked for 60 some years, disabled now and struggling to keep healthy and alive. Never in the history of my life time has there been a time such as this. People are sick with Covid 19 by the thousands and millions more have died of the coronavirus. Nothing can be trusted as fact. What we know today changes tomorrow or in a few hours. Chaos, confusion, fake news, lies, censorship of medical professionals on the front lines. There may be a drug, but its in short supply. There is no vaccine. "They" are testing a vaccine. No one is sure if it is safe. Distance at three feet, six feet, twelve feet, no sixteen feet! Wear a mask. No don't wear that kind of mask. Wear a shield. Wear gloves, don't wear gloves. Use sanitizer, but make sure it is chemically safe. Wash your hands for at least 20 seconds, a minute, a minute 30 seconds. You may have the virus if you have a headache, a fever, no taste, no smell, purple toes, a cough, a stuffy nose, fatigue. It lasts 14 days, but there are some that experience organ failure a few weeks later. You can carry it but show no symptoms. You CAN get it again. Good Lord! If ever we were in CRISIS it is NOW, TODAY! It will even be worse by September 7th or 14th or whenever congress comes back in session. Then the little they were going to send is going to be too little, too late! It's not that the money is going to cure everything. It is that the stimulus is going to make things a little better to deal with as well as help turn some parts of the economy around.

I don't understand how a $1200 stimulus check that seemed to be the most certain part of all the proposals, now sits waiting for the return of congress in a month while millions of people are trying to figure out how to live, where their next medical need can safely be met or the next mouthful is going to come from. I don't understand why or how the almighty economy is supposed to turn around when no one can buy, sell or keep their stores open. I don't understand how people are supposed to live when their jobs are gone and people are told to stay home, quarantine, distance. I don't understand how some people follow the rules, wear a mask, social distance, reduce their trips out to essential only, while others are flippantly running around having a great time, like all is normal.

I'm tired of reading apologies by now dead carriers of COVID to their families and friends for having gone out and infected entire families. I'm scared to death for the children returning to the classroom. I'm also scared for those trying to learn long distance, will it be enough, and I am even more scared for those who don't have access to the internet. I worry that social skills will be totally lost. I'm concerned for those with depression and how isolation can make it so much worse. I'm concerned for those with compromised immune systems. How can they continue treatment without being exposed to the virus? I'm concerned for the homeless and those who are about to become homeless. I'm wonder how and if the mentally ill can comprehend what is going on.

I lay in bed at night with all this racing through my mind. I have trouble sleeping. How can the members of congress go home and sleep? We trusted them, we elected them, we pay them so much more than we should, and all these supposedly, concerned, intelligent people cannot agree to send out stimulus check that so many are counting on to save their lives. How can they return to their conventions and even hope to be elected!!?? I feel like the help we need is being held hostage until we see who wins the November election. "Bruhahahah, then we will see!" How could you, CONGRESS!, possibly adjourn right now? HOW? I don't know about the millions of other Americans, but I feel forgotten, dropped, abandoned. Re-adjourn, Go back into session and take care of those you promised to protect. I'm not impressed with Republicans, Democrats or any other party right now. DO WHAT YOU WERE ELECTED TO DO FOR YOUR PEOPLE!

humanity
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.