The Swamp logo

Hey Jen Whatcha Watchin?!

Must Watch Mini- Series

By Jen EllisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

April 19th 1993.... How old were you? I was almost 15 years old and remember my Mother watching the news and bawling her eyes out that so many people lost their lives. I didn’t really comprehend what was going on in Waco, TX with The Branch Davidians, I just knew it was tragic and my mama was sad. I was young and doing my own thing at the time. It didn’t affect me then, like it does now. And I’m sorry for that.

What’s unique about this series is that it pulls from two different perspectives to give you a full picture of what actually happened. NOT what we were told by our own government. And it’s more tragic than you could ever imagine.

This series is based on one survivor’s perspective and his writings (Waco: A Survivor’s Story by David Thibodeau) AND the FBI Negotiator who worked tirelessly to try and resolve the 51-day standoff peacefully (Stalling For Time by Gary Noesner).

I can’t tell you how much this has affected me, I’m crying as I write this - I’m angry, sad, and most of all wish it had never happened. I’ve gone ahead and purchased both their books and I’m seriously heartbroken this happens and it happens more than just Waco.

There are agencies that are supposed to protect us that go too far and lives are not important anymore to them - lives are collateral damage to their “win”. It also sends a message that there is no accountability if you’re following orders no matter how wrong it is morally.

Even though this happened in 1993, we still see our government flexing its muscles on its own people DAILY.

Breonna Taylor. George Floyd. Ahmaud Arbery. Just three of way too many.

Where does it end? When do we as the people of this country say enough is enough?

I feel like we can start with ending qualified immunity and prosecute the officers, agents, and officers of the courts that do not seek justice, but rather seek to cover themselves. If they feared being jailed over covering their mistakes, the likelihood of continuing to repeat deadly mistakes would diminish.

Now, in no way was David Koresh an angel. He was a polygamist that married teenagers. Even if Texas law permitted it with parental consent, it's still yucky.

BUT, what the ATF did was 100% WRONG! They could've taken him into custody with ZERO fatalities.

Instead, the firefight on day one between the ATF and the Davidians, as well as the tragic fire at the end of the 51-day standoff resulted in the deaths of 76 Branch Davidians, including 25 children, two pregnant women, and David Koresh himself. And let's not forget four agents lost their lives that first day too. ONE life lost is TOO many.

I teach my sons the history of things that aren't pleasant because I believe it we sweep these tragedies under the rug, or change the truth about the heinous behavior of people - we run the risk of history repeating itself.

Just look at our country RIGHT NOW.

The facts of the tragic events in Waco, Texas are not widely known. Why you may ask? Because there are agencies that do not want the American people to know the truth - that they messed up and a whole LOT of innocent people died.

🍿🍿🍿🍿🍿 - Available on Netflix

I'd love to hear YOUR feedback! Have you read either book? Watched this AMAZING series? Let's talk about it!! I'm always interested in different perspectives and want to hear YOURS!

Hit me up on Facebook at Hey Jen Whatcha Watchin?!

https://www.facebook.com/whatwouldjenwatch/

tv review
Like

About the Creator

Jen Ellis

Single mother of two sons, 13 & 20. Passionate about prison reform and social justice issues. I’ve lived many lifetimes in my 42 years and I love to share my experiences with others and hear their stories as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.