The Swamp logo

Does Color Really Matter?

"Laundry is the only thing that should be separated by color."

By lizzie smithPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Humans are humans, it shouldn't matter what color we are

Think to yourself, are you racist? Why does color matter? Every human just wants to achieve something, why should their skin color matter? A lot of people are racially bullied and feel like they don't belong in society and that is WRONG! No one should feel this way. Every life has a meaning and a purpose. I personally have been bullied by my skin color after the 9/11 attack. It was probably the worst time of my life, I felt like I didn't belong. All my friends left me, and I was called a terrorist. But, I soon realized, I was not the only one who had experienced this. There are many others who have felt the same.

Let's move onto some racist crimes, including a black man dying from the police when all he did was a theft. He stole some money from a gas station. When the police arrived, they just kept shooting him. He even surrendered! While, on the other hand, a white male had insulted a woman and went to jail. He kept following the girl. He entered her house and tried to have sex with her. Shouldn't it be the other way around! Why did the police kill a man who surrendered, but let a white male go to jail for insulting a woman? Another story is how a loving father was in his grandmother's backyard making a call. The police thought he had a gun, and started shooting the innocent black male. The funny thing is, no police man stuck to their story. One officer said it was a crowbar, later he said it was a gun. "I saw him fall with just an iPhone in his hand," said his grandmother. The father had two kids, and had to sadly leave them early. Imagine what those kids were feeling, that their dad just died for no reason?

Now let's travel back to 1619, where America had enslaved black people. Americans used them to do all the dirty work. They made them build rail roads, used them as maids and sold them to richer people. Even now, some people think that is a good idea. Then finally in 1950s, black people got their rights. Now, it took three centuries for black people to get their rights.

Let's move onto brown people and see what they had to face. On September 11, 2001, there were a series of coordinated terrorist attacks by the Islamic terrorist group Al-Qaeda. After this unfortunate event, brown people were called terrorists, including myself. They had to hide their true identity because of this. For crying out loud, is THAT OK TO YOU? For god's sake, the president of United States of America wants to ban Muslims for entering his country. There is this great Indian movie that covers this topic. It is called My Name Is Khan. If you can't understand Hindi, I suggest you turn on English subtitles.

Now, since I have no stories about white people, I just want to clarify that I don't want to say that white people are racist. It's just that, you haven't been treated unfairly unlike the rest of us. I was overwhelmed when people fought for Muslims to enter the country. For the bottom of my heart if you think what Donald trump is doing is bad, it honestly puts a smile on my face. It warms up my heart to see so many people hate him because of that. If you are struggling with racial bullying just remember, be proud of your skin color and DON'T listen to them. Be proud of who you are! I know some people may give you a hard time for your color, but don't listen to them. You are beautiful just the way you are, and don't let anyone change that.

controversies
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.