The Swamp logo

Dear Mr. Trump

Wow!!!!!!!

By Greer CollinsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Dear Mr. Trump
Photo by Gautam Krishnan on Unsplash

Dear Mr. Trump,

Right now I am in awe, I just got finished reading goodbye letters that other writers have left you and I am shocked. I really had mixed feelings as to rather or not, I should share how you being a President actually affected me in the last four years. Well, for starters I have never been interested in politics or elections. I to this day have never voted for anyone. I always hated when my favorite television program would be interrupted, because a President needed to give a speech. I also did not feel comfortable voting for someone I did not even know as a person.

I only had a change of heart when President Obama ran for president. It was actually his wife who captured my attention. She was campaigning with her husband traveling all over and giving speeches. I actually enjoyed listening to her speak. From that day on I started watching CNN and following the election. However, I started to like John McCain as well so I did not register to vote. I figured whoever was elected between the two of them would be a great President.

As I am sitting here thinking back to when I first found out you were running for President, the only thing that is coming to my mind is that I was surprised. I use to watch you on television every week. I learned a lot about marketing and advertising from your television show. Every aspect of business has always been interesting to me. However, I really did not have any opinion of you as a person. I just remember thinking why would a business man want to be the President? You already had a great deal of responsibilities, and many employees to take care of. So I was curious as to what you would actually say during a debate or speech. So I actually watched your last debate with Hillary Clinton. I could not believe what I was hearing. By the time the two of you were finished speaking, I did not want to vote for either one of you. Who in their right mind could trust either of you? I was so disappointed, and scared.

I thought it would be awesome to see what a woman President would do differently from a man. However, you seem to only know how to speak horribly about your opponent. Instead of telling me clearly what you actually planned on doing once you were elected. After listening to the things you said about her, and watching her response I felt as though she was hiding something. How can we have such people running our Country?

As time went on I tried to forget about you and the whole election. That became impossible, because everyone on television could not stop talking about you. Rather it was a tweet you made, an article in the newspaper, a magazine in the check-out lane of Walmart, or a late night television host making jokes about you. You seemed to be the center of attention for four long miserable years.

That was annoying, but it was not the worst part of you being a President. The worst part was that you made living here in the United States terrifying.

I happen to be an Other, my parents were born and raised in New Orleans, Louisiana. I am mixed with so many races that I look like everyone. So I often get mistaken for being a Mexican. I was terrified that I would be sent to Mexico because of you. I also have one daughter, and six sons who are darker than me because they have more African American in them than I do. You had me worrying about them in a way I should never have had to as their mother.

I just want to tell you one more thing while I have your attention. I actually registered to vote, when I found out that you could possibly cause me and those I love, four more years of terror. I wanted to vote for Kamala Harris. I was again disappointed when she decided not to run for President. So I did not vote for anyone.

I can honestly say that it brings me great pleasure to say goodbye to you and your reign of terror.

Good riddance,

Greer

trump
1

About the Creator

Greer Collins

Newbie to writing, yet enjoying every minute of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.