The Swamp logo

Dear Mr. Trump

A letter from the average, non-political American

By Diseree Lee ZacherPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
My country is no longer a safe place so I must retreat to that which I can only find away from my fellow man.

I hope this finds you and your family well. I want to start out by stating that I truly appreciate any and all sacrifices you may have made during your time as our president. I will admit, however, that I am not really aware of any of these sacrifices, though I know that they are there. I do not follow much in the realm of politics and it is easy to be swayed by what is spread through-out the social media platforms and via the news. It is, therefore, very difficult for someone like me who does not feverishly follow the media to get an accurate image of what is actually being said and done within the walls of the White House. Because of this I have tried not to judge you too harshly and have attempted to further educate myself more on your political agenda but, when you cannot maintain a proper public image it then becomes an issue for me. So, I am writing you because I want you to know what it is like for someone who is not fighting for either side but simply watching the war.

During your term many have had strong opinions to argue on both sides, and few were afraid to voice this. It is easy for anyone to photoshop or manipulate the images presented on Facebook, Instagram, and various other platforms making the truth subjective. What I do see during the little time I spend online, in all honesty, truly makes me cringe. The hardest part about this is, for all I can see you have openly encouraged this and other destructive types of behavior in your followers.

I will tell you that one thing I would expect from a man who has taken on the duty of running a country would be poise and a sense of integrity. I will also tell you that, more than anything, these are the aspects of your presidency that caused me to dislike you even without any real knowledge of your goals for your term. I am sure you have done some good things, but in light of the way you handle yourself in the public eye, I have failed to see any of it your entire four years on command.

Regardless of your political affiliation, you were representing a nation and approached it with a cocky attitude that did nothing but make me and thousands others dislike you. To watch you make fun of and belittle certain people or groups publicly or to hear you speak so proudly and intently of things you clearly do not understand; you even got our countries geography wrong a few times on national television, it was simply an embarrassment. Regardless of the positive changes you intended to make, you lost those of us who maintain that a proper presentation and intellect are a requirement in our country’s leadership.

Your supporters followed your every move so when you behaved in a belittling and discriminatory way, so did they. Your points could easily have been argued without enticing so much hate. In fact, I guarantee more people would have listened if you would have behaved in a more respectful manner, I would have. Instead, I was forced to sit back and watch my country become a mockery as thousands of your supporters acted out and destroyed my home. They cost me and many other thousands doing what they thought you wanted of them. Innocent lives were lost. I can not help but feel that someone else could have accomplished all that you hoped to without all of this simply by using the gift of their voice. I mean, the whole world has been watching you and your influence is extreme. Shame on you for taking advantage of that and not handling the people of your country in a more appropriate manner.

I had your political agenda at my hands and did not pay a bit of attention because I found your behavior so atrocious, what impression do you think you have now left on other countries? I wish it was not this way but, appearance holds more weight than we give it credit for.

If I, an American born woman, cannot find a reason to keep my television on when your face comes on it because you have shown me you completely lack class, then what do other cultures think of my country now or you? This may not matter to you, but it should because it matters to me and thousands of others who reside in this country.

You took something so important for so many and made it into a joke. You provoked damaged and angry people to lash out in completely inappropriate ways. You gave an excuse for those full of hate to breed more hate and you did it all by yourself behaving in such a manner. You’re truly a disgrace.

It breaks my heart to know that there were lessons lost because of your ignorance. You could have made a difference in a good way but instead you have all but brought on another civil war. The worst part is you appear to be proud of this.

I voted for Biden not because I fully support his agenda but because I don’t want to be made to look a fool anymore by a man who appears uneducated, entitled, and cocky and nothing more. I can guarantee you lost many a votes due to this. There was no need for a recount, and you looked like a fool asking for one. You lost. You lost because of how disliked you are. The unfortunate side is you fail to see it. It is as if you simply cannot believe you lost even in the wake of all the destruction you have caused. If you want to see why you lost, look at your behavior! If you could see yourself that way most see you, you would not be surprised. You have no one to blame but yourself.

Being that America is already viewed by many as an overly indulgent and cocky country I doubt the international view of my home has been at all helped by your shenanigans. You are the epitome of what every other country hates about us.

Four more years could have allowed you more time to accomplish whatever it is that you had planned but you lost is because you assumed you owned it. Now you only appear to the whole world to be nothing more than a spoiled child.

Please move on gracefully, your voice can still be heard but this is not the way.

It is indeed time to make America great again. It is time to stop the fighting and stop the hate and you have to be the one to say that. I don’t have faith that you will do anything of the sort, but I also have great faith that anyone can see the error of their ways and chance if they truly desire. That faith will continue to fuel my belief that maybe one day you’ll do the right thing so that your voice can be heard once again but in the right light, in a manner that will make me want to listen.

Looking out at what is left of my country in the wake of your presidency truly breaks my heart. Please don’t continue to fuel hate. We don’t need hate we need love and acceptance to truly thrive.

trump
Like

About the Creator

Diseree Lee Zacher

A 37 yr old female and a Utah native, I'd describe as an adventurer. I seek serenity, though I don't find this in the material world. I love all foods but highly processed items. My favorite foods originate from Russia and Eastern Europe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.