The Swamp logo

Dear Donny Boy

I'm appalled and disappointed

By Set Rose SpeaksPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2

Dear Donald Trump,

The day you were elected is a day that I will never forget. I still remember the intense emotions of hatred and fear running their course through my high school. I remember my own friends gathered in a circle, worriedly looking at their phones and reading the news of your first of many attacks on the LGBT+ community. We were too young to vote, we were helpless, and for the next four years we would have to suffer the mistake that was you and your leadership.

I was always on edge, wondering what your next move would be— who was next on your political hit list. The constant worry slowly turned into the status quo. Days of eloquent presidents seemed long gone after a few months of your tweets. Do you know that people lived in fear because of you? You tore apart friends and turned them into enemies. Entire families no longer speak because of you, and I’m not even talking about the families you separated at the border! Your insanity rapidly rubbed off on the Republican party. No matter what you said or did, they refused to condemn you. Even when you were impeached the first time, your party stuck right by your side and ate up every excuse you gave them. You couldn’t even take a pandemic seriously!

November 3rd, 2020 finally came after years of continuous disaster, and I eagerly watched each state flip from grey to red or blue. Of course, as you remember, it looked like you were going to win during that first night. I’ll admit it, those few days of uncertainty worried me. It felt as though the whole world was holding its breath, watching silently to see whether or not America would continue down its destructive path. And then November 7th arrived. Within minutes of Pennsylvania confirming that they voted blue, I had already informed my entire family. I screamed, laughed, cried, and jumped around my room— and I wasn’t the only one. Entire city streets filled with people, assembled together in celebration. Strangers rallied within hours of hearing the news, singing, hugging and crying. A wave of relief swept the world.

As is your style, you refused to concede, no shocker there. However, I never expected you to go as far as to incite a coup. Actually, that’s a lie, I completely expected it, I just hoped that I would be wrong. But of course, your supporters stormed the capital, listening to every command you gave them as you hid in your bunker like the coward you are. I hope that was worth the second impeachment Donny.

There are many things I’d like to say to you, but I’ll keep it as appropriate and brief as I can: screw you.

Your eternal hater,

Set Rose

trump
2

About the Creator

Set Rose Speaks

Hi! My name is Set Rose. I'm an artist and writer from central Jersey. If you like my writing and want to see more of what I do, my Instagram is @SetRoseStudios and my TikTok is @SetRoseMemes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.