The Swamp logo

Dear Donald Trump

Sincerely, an American citizen.

By null nullPublished 7 years ago 6 min read
Like

Dear Donald Trump,

When I grew up, the people around me taught me lifelong values that I still hold dear to this day. My parents mostly, with large contributions from extended family and friends I've met throughout my life. These morals I learned, these values, I now hold every person I come across to those same ones. My every judgement is passed based on them, and for the longest time, I never thought I'd stumble across someone who'd disagree. If anything, I thought everyone understood the same basic values.

But when it comes to disagreement, it's human and normal. Opinions will always differ, and being able to communicate differences is one of the most important things in the world. I've been following your campaign since the moment you announced it, and as time has gone on, I've come to see that you and I don't share the same values. And not in a normal, civil disagreement way, but in a way that's devastating the country I call home.

"Honesty is the best policy."

Little kids try to fib all the time, lying about stealing from the cookie jar or trying to blame their siblings on who broke Mom's favorite vase. From day one, I was taught that honesty is the best policy. Though it took me many years to truly believe that, by the time I was in high school, I understood.

At the end of the day, lying doesn't only hurt the people around you, but it hurts yourself as well. Lies destroy trust and reliability, lies destroy friendships and relationships of all natures. But more importantly, in a political position, lies destroy worlds. This country has fallen victim to your lies time and time again, and not once have you owned up to them and admitted your mistakes. You just continue to lie and continue to cover things up, and in only your first few months of presidency the nation has stopped trusting its leaders.

There are times I have gotten in trouble with friends, family, even teachers for doing the wrong thing, but I have learned to be honest and admit my mistaken and in the end, all is worked on and eventually forgiven. You never admit your wrongdoings, hell, these days, it feels like you never tell the truth. I do not trust liars. Most, if not all people do not trust liars. We've lost all trust in you Mr. Trump, and with that means a loss of faith.

"Treat others the way you want to be treated."

Also called the golden rule, I've been hearing this over and over since kindergarten. Treat others the way you want to be treated. A simple statement, but a strong one that everyone should live by.

Last winter, a man's truck got stuck in the snow down the street. I went out with a shovel and tried my best to dig it out, and when it didn't work, I offered him hot chocolate while he waited for a tow truck. When one of my best friends in middle school fell sick with whooping cough, I visited him numerous times a week when he was no longer contagious, bringing him gifts and candy and playing video games with him.

I do the little things too, of course. I hold doors for people, offer to help them carry something if I see them struggling in a store. Even just yesterday, I was at my college bookstore when the girl in line to the cash register in front of me dropped a bag of candy. Her hands were already full, but before she could even try to juggle everything and pick the candy back up, I grabbed it for her and handed it to her.

Little things are no biggie at all. The bigger things should also be no biggie, in my opinion. I do these things because, if I were in the same situation, I'd want people to do that for me. Yet you do not seem to have that mentality, Mr. Trump. You berate people, call them names, belittle them, and that's only the bare minimum of the things you've said and done to others. But the moment someone so much as calls you a name, you go ballistic. But why are you surprised? Why do you expect unconditional respect and kindness if you don't give it to others?

"We're all human."

What's most shocking to me is that this is a controversial statement. I have met people from all walks of life, I have met people of different nationalities and ethnicities, different religions and upbringings. But at the end of the day, we're all human, and yet you, the President of the United States, don't feel the same, nor do your followers.

You treat immigrants like they're unworthy of stepping foot on American soil, and yet you yourself are the son of an immigrant. But even beyond that, you ignore the fact that this country was built on immigrants. But somehow, you manage to treat them as subhuman. What makes them less human than you, Mr. Trump? Is it their accents? Their religious views? Their upbringings? Or is it just your own ignorance that makes them lesser than you?

But it's not just immigrants either. The disabled, the members of the LGBTQ+ community, veterans who don't seem to meet your standards, people of color, people of different religions; you treat them all like they're worth less than you. But at the end of the day, we're all human. The good people and the bad, they're all human, just like you. So what makes you more human than them, more deserving of basic rights than them?

"Sharing is caring."

Super easy to remember, right? Every child gets told this at some point or another. Share your toys, share your snacks, share, share, share. Because sharing is caring. Yet when disaster strikes or when people are in desperate need of financial help, you refuse to share. Remodeling the White House, spending thousands upon thousands on your wardrobe as well as your wife's, using our tax dollars to take trips to your many resorts and golf courses. Yet there are people starving, the streets are littered with homeless, hundreds of thousands of the citizens you're meant to represent are struggling to get by. Single mothers are working multiple jobs to support their children, minimum wage workers are unable to live on their own, natural disasters and even man-made ones are tearing people's lives apart.

But you never share your wealth.

---

A president is supposed to embody and represent the good in our country, to defend the defenseless and to make the world a better place. You claim to do all that, but how could you if you don't even have a basic foundation? You fail to follow even the most simplistic of good morals, ones that are taught to and understood by even the youngest of children. There are a million things I could say to you, Mr. President. But how can you understand anything I say when you can't understand the basics of being a human being?

trump
Like

About the Creator

null null

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.