The Swamp logo

Dealing with Fear in Our Time

Thriving Instead of Surviving In Our Modern Days Laced With Fear

By Amanda ClarkPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Tonik on Unsplash

No matter what side you are on, or where you live, there is a permeating sense of dread and fear. It has gripped whole nations and populations. There are protests for many things going on at the same time. Listen to any protester on any side. Their words may be different and their topics divisive, but at the core of their beliefs, their concerns, is an enveloping sense of terror and fear.

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, horrible and scary situations have been magnified throughout the world. On all levels of society, to individual families fighting for food, shelter, education and safety; to governments pushing economic relief, healthcare and scientific boundaries, it is all for the same reason. It is no longer about enhancing current life with new innovations. At this time, all over the world, it is about survival and damage control.

How do we keep ourselves and our loved ones safe? How do we continue to grow ass people and continue our lives? How can we salvage our communities and support each other in these times? That answer, I believe, is to focus more on what we have and what we can do with it on an individual level.

This does not mean that we only focus on ourselves and our loved ones. It means that we understand that by doing what it is that we can do for our loved ones, ourselves and our communities, we are able to help without burdening others. If all that you have the power to do is stay home, teach your child and make sure that you have food on your table, then do that and nothing more. If you are able to, because of your career, training, health or financial situation able to do more, then do more.

I am a social worker who works from home for a non-profit in a case management position. I am lucky enough that I do not have to leave the house, though my husband does as he is an essential worker. However, because of my professional contacts, training and my personal community connections, I am able to help get out information about Food Banks, how to file for unemployment, what the latest is from the local health departments and who to contact for COVID-19 testing.

Because of this, I am able to help my clients, their families, their friends and others to access these critical services. Because I have health problems, it is not good practice for me to be around others. I have no medical training, and have recently recovered from COVID-19 like symptoms. As a result, what I am doing now, is enough. If I attempted to do more, it would more than likely get me sick again, or spread COVID-19 or I would probably get in another's way.

Please remember, do what you can, when you can, how you can and for those whom you can do it for. Do not over exert yourself and understand that, in the end, most of us do not have the power to stop what is happening and the consequences of others' actions from on high. We are all doing the best we can, and realizing this and understanding this has helped me feel much less afraid. If you only keep yourself and your family safe, healthy and cared for, you have done enough.

Stay safe, stay home if possible, and thank you to those who have realized that they can do more and are doing so at their own and their family's risk. We are all in this together and we will all get out of this together, whatever future comes from these times. Be brave in whatever way you can and you will have overpowered fear and helped make the world a little bit brighter.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Amanda Clark

I am a Licensed Master Social Worker. I work as a case manager for for a local non-profit. I live with my husband, two dogs, cat and four tarantulas. From poetry, short stories and fanfiction, I have written since I was a tween.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.