The Swamp logo

Choose to Survive

Love stories and poems are the stories that want to be told from the heart and mind, to show the passion of everyday life.

By Lizzy ArrowPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Created by Lizzy Arrow

Choosing to survive is a key thing in life; you've either got it or you haven't, from a small amount to a large amount, we as individuals become one big family. We help and support the people who need it the most; this is for our communities that have come together, over the past few months and recently.

Choose To Survive

The skies are crying as I'm watching the flames come near; every tear that I caught in my hands, I knew this was going to be the end. If there was silence at the end of this monstrosity of a nightmare, I wish it would end in a way that we had a chance of getting out or having our voices heard, did they have to ignore our cries or our voices? Now there's nothing left of me here.

Did you have to take everything that I had in my life? Did you have to break everything that made me who I am? Am I a glass that you can break so easily? Did you have to tear me up like I was made of paper? You can give it a go by tearing me up and putting me down because I know my community will help me rise up from the ground like I'm a skyscraper that you cannot destroy. I know we will fight for our rights wither I die or not; I know we will win, because we chose to survive.

As the smoke cleared I could hear ringing in my ears; as I came around I could hear sirens coming and going, as I watched you untangle me from shrapnel carefully without causing any more pain that I'm already in. You just stand there watching as everything unfolds as we lay there bleeding dying; go run run run, back to your silly place of hiding that you call your home and don't care about us. We are just laying right here watching you disappear whilst someone else helps us instead; it's a long way down from here, I think I'm close to the clouds up here.

It's a race, it's a race. A race to help the survivors. It's a race it's a race and they're going to win. They choose to survive. Yes, they are going to win. Whatever it takes they are going to choose to survive. I'm going to give them all my strength. I'll be prepared to do anything to help; fight to help survive, I won't forgive those people who did this. Vengeance is mine as I'm going to show that we won't give in; we choose to thrive, we pull together as one.

Whatever it takes I'm going to win; you won't pull ahead, I will light the fuse that will make you trip up even more than you have. It's a race, it's a race to find the survivors, we have to win to be able to thrive, not matter what it takes we have to win because we will never loose. When the night falls down they are still waiting for us to return; to return to find them, to which they want to return to their families either dead or alive. We know how much it's worth for the people of the community; do you know how much it's worth now? Of course not because you care about yourself.

I don't know where I'm going but all I know is here we go again; I'm pretty sure where this is going, the empty promises that have been made I know the answers already. I have made up my mind; I'm not wasting any more time, but to go in head first and help. You're so cruel with a device that placed into your hands; your blood is like ice to cold to touch or understand, one look could kill us all in one way or another.

There's nothing going to stop us now; as we choose to survive, we are going to win no matter what it takes. Yes, we are going to win!

humanitycontroversiespoliticians
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Arrow

I'm a full time blogger...I love writing writing is my passion. I write different types of things even have my own website called lizzysweeklyblogs.

Www.lizzysweeklyblogs.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.