The Swamp logo

Black People Are Racist Too

One white, millennial, woman's opinion

By Lauren HodgesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The amount of times per day that I see my right-wing, conservative, facebook friends sharing the phrase "black people are racist too" is infuriating, but it's also not entirely false. People, especially now during the Black Lives Matter movement, are taking every chance they get to post photos and news articles about the racist things that black people have done or are currently doing, even the ones who run the BLM movement. These people, posting these stories and articles and photos, are not wrong. You cannot tell me they are because 1. there is proof and 2. it's human nature at this point. Black people are racist too, fact. Don't try to "if, and, or but" me because you're in denial if you try to argue that. It's a fact.

However, here's my isssue. You see...nobody, in their right frame of mind, is saying that black people are NOT racist, because well, that's simply not true. Black people are racist too, but do you know what the difference is? Oh yes, there's a HUGE difference between a white person being racist to a black person and a black person being racist to a white person. And NO, the answer is not that "the media is bias towards showing white racism". That's a whole other issue that I will get into another time, because boy do I have some things to say about it.

Anyway, back to the point here. The difference between white to black racism and black to white racism is that white people are racist because...of so many reasons. A prime reason is that it's systemic at this point. It's what we know to be okay, a lot of people were raised by racist white folk, a lot of people were raised cracking racist jokes that they didn't know were racist, it's habitual, it's systemic. But um, also, to put it mildly, white people are racist because we are just assholes at this point. There is no excuse for it, and yet, we still do it! Everyday we do it, even the people who stand with the BLM movement, do it. I know so many people who are racist or make racist jokes or say racist things just because they think it's funny. It's a thing and its horrible and wrong, but it's a thing and if you try to deny it, you are seriously part of the problem, please evaluate yourself.

Now, the piece that NOBODY is talking about or maybe nobody has realized. Black people, black people are racist, yes. However, black people are racist IN RETALIATION! Read that again. Black people are racist towards white people in retaliation of white people being racist to them. It is a learned behavior, a defense mechanism, a safety protocol. White people started this and you cannot tell me otherwise. In this country, in the United States, white people started this war. If white people were not racist from the start, we would not have this problem (at least not to this extent) today.

So yes, black people are racist too, but in my opinion, and I will get hate for this, their racist remarks towards us, are valid. I do not approve of racism in any form, I do my damndest to not be racist myself but everyone makes mistakes, every race makes mistakes, it's a learning curve. I wish racism didn't exist on any level, I really do. I do not support black people being racist to white people, but I do understand it. I get it. Rolls reversed? If black people did to us years ago what we did to them, I have no doubt that I would have some racist tendencies towards them. I know I would, because how couldn't you?

If you don't see that there is a huge difference between these two types of racism, you need to do some homework and step back for a minute. Black people are racist too, but they are racist in retaliation.

Thanks for reading,

Lauren <3

controversies
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.