The Swamp logo

Being a Black Man in America under Trump Presidency

R&B Artist Jeiris Cook Share His Thoughts

By Veronica Charnell MediaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo Courtesy of Jeiris Cook

The events that took place this year will definitely be recorded in the history books for many generations to read about. We can all agree systematic racism in the United States has been uncovered, and the Trump Administration was not interested in denouncing how African Americans were being treated by the Police.

Jeiris Cook is a soulful R&B Artist shares his thoughts on being a Black Man in America under the Trump Administration.

Vocal Readers please enjoy the conversation.

Monae Management

1. Over since George Floyd‘s death, the United States has been in complete uproar. It showed everyone how racism is very much alive . As a black man living under Trump Presidency, what are thoughts looking at an Administration who didn’t do anything about Police Brutality against African Americans in the United States?

Jeiris Cook:

I’ve developed a heightened sense of awareness under this administration. Especially being a solo artist and not having band members or roadies I’m often traveling to unfamiliar places alone. This administration has given the greenlight to folks who might have otherwise withheld their feelings about black and brown people. In this environment, the opposite has happened where people are encouraged to engage in racism. And I hate using that word, because I feel like lots of folks don’t do enough mental due diligence before they decide on using that term. Besides, people shut down as soon as you say it, so I try to stay away from using it. Like everyone else, my frustration was indescribable when I watched the police senselessly take the life of a restrained black man so nonchalantly. It just breaks down further the relationship between black and brown communities and the police charged with “protecting” them. And it certainly doesn’t help when you have a President in office who encourages extremist groups. As a black man in America, I sometimes feel that target on my back more on some days than others. And lately I’ve definitely been feeling it.

Monae Management

2. Have you ever experienced racism, and decided to keep quiet about it?

Jeiris Cook:

Yes I have. I’ve been profiled by the police more than a few times. It happens more than I care to count at gigs as well. Sometimes I might hear a compliment like “I know why you sing like that” or “your people can sing” at places I’m playing. The way it's said is meant for me to take it jokingly but it’s never funny. I've heard it from bar owners who’ve hired me for the night and it's usually in these cases when I keep quiet about it, because I want to get paid. But no one should have to decide between their dignity and a paycheck. Black people have to make that choice on a daily basis.

Monae Management

3. You are raising 3 boys in America, are you afraid they may run into a Racist Police Officer?

Jeiris Cook:

All the time. My mom had “the talk” with me and I’m starting to have those conversations with my oldest who is 11yrs. I don’t want them to view the police negatively because I don’t want them to generalize people who don’t deserve it. That’s already happening to people of color in this country and it’s demoralizing to be on the receiving end of that. I don’t want my sons to mirror that behavior, and become like the few who do. So I will continue to have “the talk”, teach them to respect the police, and live to fight another day if and when they are treated unfairly.

Monae Management

4. Do you feel the Biden Administration will help change how the Police interact overall with African Americans?

Jeiris Cook:

No. That has to happen on the ground in communities across the nation. It has to be an ongoing and sometimes difficult conversation between local community leaders & local police. I do think Biden’s ascent to the presidency will help to mitigate some of the racist behavior that’s been so prevalent the last 4 years. But it won’t go away, and all those folks will come out of the woods again when the next “Trump” is elected unless we address it now.

Jeiris Cook Instagram: @jeiriscookmusic

Facebook: Jeiris Cook Music

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Charnell Media

Entertainment & Lifestyle Contributor, Radio Personality. I love to write about Lifestyle, Entertainment, & Business. Follow the Journey on Instagram @monaemanagement @iam_ladyveronica

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.