The Swamp logo

As a Heterosexual Black Male in America how can I Follow a Movement that does not Reflect me?

By: Colin Swearingen Founder of the Minority Alliance Organization

By MINORITY ALLIANCE ORGANIZATIONPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Founders of Black Lives Matter

I would not say that I totally disagree with policies supported by the Black Lives Matter movement. But as a black man in America how can I follow a movement on my behalf that does not fully reflect me? The rate at which black men witness inequality and injustice in this country is higher than any other demographic.

Statistics for Imprisonment

As a black male that has experienced every injustice and inequality America has to offer I feel as black men we must be a part of the conversation. We must have a seat at the table in discussion on how we can cure this epidemic that has plagued our society. As black men we are more likely to have our rights of a voice in the political process stripped from us for a lifetime. We have silently allowed every other group of people who are fractionally affected by the policies to be the leaders in crafting reform for us.

When I look at the Black Lives Matter movement I don’t see myself. I don’t see my ideology. As a black male I can say majority of my counterparts and I are not looking for a hand-out. We are not looking for sympathy. We are not looking for anyone to do for us. But what we do require and what we are fighting for is a fair shot. An opportunity to experience the so called “American Dream” that for centuries has been out of reach for a majority of us.

What is a black mans voice in this country? Even as heroes rise up amongst us they are faced with defamation, silenced, or assassinated by the public. The heterosexual black male has been America’s “Public Enemy Number one” from the moment the first slave ship was brought to America. It has been ingrained in minority communities that a black male is fortunate to reach the age of 21 alive and not a part of the modern day slave market. It is ingrained further into the black males mind that the avenues to escape poverty are far and few.

Black poverty statistics

As black men how can we fight for other issues not regarding us when we have yet to see justice for ourselves? Black Lives Matter is asking far too much from the black male. How can we save everyone else from drowning when we are drowning ourselves? As black men it is time for the black men in America who are not in bondage to step up and be a voice for our counterparts. For how much longer will we allow everyone else to narrate our story?

controversies
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.