The Swamp logo

Another open letter

2NOV2020; 0150, MON

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
"There are known knowns..."- Fmr. SecDef (Secretary of Defense) Donald Rumsfeld ('02).

Dear Ms. America,

Rumor has it that you can do no wrong and that you are the envy of the world. Fun fact: You are morbidly obese and an inmate running the asylum, to reference the latest project by the iconic Hip Hop duo Run The Jewels (2020).

Factoid: You are the most powerful entity the world has ever known. "Actually Factually": Impoverished and hungry youth in your homes is commonplace.

"Let the liquor tell it": You'll reign supreme forever. Sobering reality: The average lifespan of an empire is about two hundred and fifty years (got a random countdown clock to the year 2026?).

"I heard it through the grapevine": you are "In The Groove" (the late, great, fellow Washingtonian, Marvin Gaye ['68]). Fact of the matter: We are on the cusp of "A Beautiful Revolution" (Chi-Raq's own, Common [30OCT2020]).

A lie that is true: "A little bit of love never hurt nobody"- Noname (2016). Empirical facts: "Over money and religion, there's more blood to spill"- Talib Kweli ('98); and we all bleed red.

Comforting lie: You are God's gift to the world. Bitter truth: You might could be the bane of humanity.

To quote Ye, "I think this is the part where I’m supposed to say somethin’ good to compensate it so it doesn’t come off bad" (2018). Sift and weigh though. "Change my mind" about the "Inconvenient Truth[s]" above if you can.

Infeasibleness not withstanding, something's gotta give. "I declare war" on the notion that apathy is grand.

If "the love of money is [really] the root of all evil" as The Good Book says, then America is a debacle soon to become disillusioned and deeply devastated. Inevitably so.

To quote one of my favorite artists off his eighth track "The Poverty of Philosophy" from his debut album, "Revolutionary Vol. 1" (14SEP2001), "I'm quite sure that people will look upon my attitude and sentiments and look for hypocrisy and hatred in my words. My revolution is born out of love for my people, not hatred for others."

In a similar vein, I am convinced that hate being the opposite of love is one of, if not the biggest popular misconception. According to the late, great Dr. Martin Luther King, that categorization is reserved for indifference.

While I've voted in some shape, form, or fashion in the past three out of the four elections that I've been eligible to cast a ballot in; this current election cycle marks the very first time that I have participated in a general election. Honest critique: Lackluster at best.

Granted, this corona virus situation essentially put a major damper on the matter, there's little to no doubt in my mind that I was more or less segregated from the rest of my fellow citizens partaking in our "civic duty" simply for going against the grain as far as the party alignment of the majority in my hometown.

I have transitioned throughout the years from a completely ignorant Democrat, to a ridiculously radical Republican, and finally to a nonaggression principle Libertarian. As my Instagram bio has said for years now, "Agorism is the future."

One day, teenagers round the world will again have the options of working in manufacturing, being academics, and/or being creatives; or so I believe. They won't have to worry about random drive-bys and whatnot, but rather which electric vehicle (EV) manufacturers they want to invest in from month to month and such while riding cross country again with a "copilot" as well as a "fur baby" or two.

Wishful thinking, perhaps. However, the alternative is a nonstarter, as just about any casual observer would concede.

Tl;dr– We are at a crossroads, as even the most reluctant politico would be forced to admit. The main rub lies in the question of: will the men with all the gold continue to make all the rules; or will we rise from the grave as Lazarus supposedly did?

controversies
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.