The Swamp logo

An Open Letter to an Imposter

Good riddance

By Alfie JanePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
An Open Letter to an Imposter
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

I'll never forget when I found out you won the election. That day, I waited in line to get through customs in Beijing. As I sat through security, someone in the line said, "Shit! Trump's president!"

Most of the people in line were American. The mood in the line went from meh, to angry. Not one person felt happy about the result. Every person was upset and angry. We talked so angrily, security walked to us and asked if we were okay. Then he apologized when he realized what got us upset.

One man expressed concern for his daughter. Others felt scared because of their race. I shook my head in disbelief. My stomach hurt all the way to my apartment.

For three years, I watched from my computer screen in China.

I watched my country go through a downward spiral and feared it'd force me back into the U.S. Quiet people on my social media went to my Facebook to tell me I'm exaggerating. People I thought were nice had no problems telling me what a snowflake I am and unfriended me. The ugliness I read from people was baffling. The kind of hate conservatives claimed to experience I dealt with the moment the Imposter in Chief got elected.

When you got elected, I worked in China for three years already. Every summer I'd come home to visit family and friends. For the next three years, I got scared to come home over the summer. And worse. I feared you'd do something so stupid I'd never be able to go back to China.

I came home from China for personal reasons in 2019. And then the Pandemic happened six months later.

I watched in horror as you spewed willful ignorance across the nation. I watched people hang on your every word, even as they lay dying in a hospital bed with tubes shoved down their throats.

Country after country piled on travel bans like chocolate addicts pop M&M's. Other countries learned to get the virus under control while we got worse every time an overgrown baby carrot opened his mouth. Travel bans morphed to being against us, for we couldn't control a virus or the Cheeto masquerading as a leader.

And despite all of this, you still downplayed everything. You rejected something as simple as a piece of cloth. You urged your fervent followers to reject the rest of the world as you dismissed that same cloth. As the world moved forward, you held us back. And the nation grew angry and blamed anyone trying to do something.

"They're taking away your rights!" you said.

"They can't tell you what to do!" you said.

"Liberate!" you called.

"Fake news!" you cried.

We the people begged you to see reason. We pleaded with you to watch what the world did and copy it. But that would've meant you were wrong.

Was the need to be right worth the thousands of lives lost by your willful ignorance? Does it feel good knowing people blame you for why their loved ones died this year? Are you sleeping like a baby knowing your need to fall backwards is destroying so many lives, relationships, and more?

And when racists got braver, you applauded them

Black men and women took to the streets to protests injustices. Uncaring white people turned it into a social trend. When white supremacists added to the chaos, you called them good people. And when our loved ones started parroting your rhetoric on social media, we challenged them.

Facebook arguments turned into face-to-face debates. Debates turned into arguments. Arguments turned into fights. Some people can't be looked at the same again.

And just like that, my nightmare turned real. I'm told I'm a follower for telling the facts. A virtue signaler because I call out what's wrong. I'm told I don't really care about a virus; I care too much about what other people think. That I'm wrong for wanting to stop a virus before it kills me.

So many countries still have Americans banned, so I can't go away. I'm isolated from people who see reason. I'm an enemy for wanting better for my country. And the isolation hurts.

Watching you leave is the only hope I have

Your fervent followers aren't going to change anything. They tried a coup, and they failed. They ruined their lives for you, and your reaction is to stomp and pee on them with a giddy smile on your face.

Associating them with a group whose reputation you tarnished added insult to injury. You added confusion and pain. In four years you destroyed so many families, friends, and loved ones.

Now, our country is in shambles. People trust each other less than ever before. Kindness is a rare form of courage. We're all walking on eggshells to get through the days. We're so exhausted from your chaos that we'll do anything to get rid of you and make things okay.

So, from the bottom of my heart, I say this. Good riddance, mother-fucker. I won't miss you.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Alfie Jane

A wandering soul who writes about anything and everything. Former expat, future cook and writer. Will take any challenge that comes her way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.