The Swamp logo

A House Divided

The Path We Have Chosen

By Payton BeimsPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Courtesy of: Google Images

It is not uncommon for there to be two schools of thought in this country on many different topics. I, for one, like to keep my conservative roots alive. Although, it is not uncommon for me to make exceptions to my disagreements based on weather or not the argument is really worth wasting time talking about, I believe that the liberal democrats have made some drastic mistakes. But that is not to say that we republicans haven't made an even bigger mistake by coming back at the liberals with our old-timey values that really have no place in the world today.

One such example is on the topic of being homosexual and wanting to get married to someone of the same gender. I was raised to believe that was wrong. It is "unnatural" and gross. And for the longest time I believed that to be true. That was until my very good friend from high school came out about his orientation just after we graduated. After he had done so, he stopped talking to me. He knew what my thoughts were on such a matter. What he didn't realize was that I had a change of heart. I decided to text him one day and ask him why we hadn't talked. He told me that he thought I hated him for being gay. I told him that I had changed my ways in looking at that way of life and said that I didn't want to lose such a great friend just because he was gay.

My point is: arguing all day long about things that don't really matter to the country is nothing short of a waste of time. We don't need to talk about gay people getting married. But, on the other hand, we don't need to talk about civil rights either.

Hear me out. I grew up in a small town in western Kansas where there were very few African Americans. I myself am a Cherokee Indian. The Black Lives Matter movement has been around for quite a few years now and (for some reason) they don't seem to think they have made much progress. I don't think that African Americans ever had to make progress in the first place. I believe that everyone gets the same opportunity, but only if they are willing to work for it. I am 20 years old and in college. I have made friends who are African American and most of them seem to have a spark in them that says, "I'm going to do something with my life." I find this to be very rare anymore. Morgan Freeman was on the news one time and was talking on the subject of racial inequality. He doesn't believe that people should use the excuse of not being able to leave the place you call home. He said, "Man, the bus runs every day," telling them that it is never really impossible to get out of the situation they are in.

In short, there is not a need for what problems we face in America today. Sure, you may not like our president for the things that you think he said, but have you ever researched what he is trying to accomplish? All I'm trying to say is: be good. Don't hate one another just because you don't like each other's political views. In my opinion, we all need to take stock in what is important to us very soon. Because, if we don't, our nation will surely fall.

controversies
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.