The Chain logo

The Nokomoto Logs

Memoirs from inside the group that made history.

By James F. EwartPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Nobody would think that the creators of a digital coin, that held practically next to no value, would become the most infamous pioneers of the 21st century. What people don't know is that there was a group of individuals who came together to create the first big Bitcoin mine. Their intention was to create a new frontier, and then vanish before anyone could find out who opened the door.

The story of this group remained a secret, until now.

What follows are log entries left behind on a drive, it's speculated that no member wrote in it twice, given the limited number.

Log 1:

"We started something big today. Or at least, something that I hope turns out to be. There is a digital age upon us, and with every new era comes new rules, new morals, and new currencies.

We intend to create the very first of these currencies. One that's not printed or physically exchanged, it can be traded solely through the computer. It could very well replace the American Dollar, maybe even become the new gold standard.

My colleagues and I have agreed to write only at pivotal moments of the development. Then we will destroy this drive, so that everyone will know what we have done, but not who created it. We do not wish to be identified, for we rather remain out of the spotlight.

For namesakes' you can call us Satashi Nokomoto,

It means the Origin of Intelligent History."

Log 2:

"We've been mining for almost two months now. The work is long, grueling, and we sometimes wonder if it's even worth it. Or at least, I do.

Satashi tries to keep our hopes up, but every hour we're not at work, we're mining. We eat at our computers, we minimalize our bathroom breaks, it's enough to make anyone go insane.

The other day Satashi confronted Satashi on how his computer had already mined over 200 coins while he had only had 5. It got pretty heated, I think he would have smashed Satashi's computer had Satashi not stepped in.

I don't know when, or if we'll ever see gratification for the work we've done, I just hope that we haven't killed each other by the time it happens."

Log 3:

"I'm mad as hell.

I would love nothing more than to go on about how much of a pain Satashi is, but Satashi told me that this is meant to document our progress as a group, not serve as a personal diary.

Anyways, it's been a year since we first started this campaign. Nothing would make me happier than to take everything I've accomplished this far and head for the hills. Then again, I can't give up now, not with Satashi outpacing me. He's somehow mined at least 3,100 coins, putting him neck and neck with our leader Satashi.

How the hell did he do it? I have less than 1000, I have the third highest collection. Either he's discovered a reserve and isn't telling us, or he's somehow manipulating the resources so that we only get the scraps.

I don't know how much longer I can take of this madness. We mine every day from the moment we come back from work, to late into the night. Sometimes we go until as late as three in the morning.

Weekends are even worse. Every hour we're not asleep, we're at our monitors, mining for a coin that may or may not be worth anything.

It never stops. Nights are restless, since the weight of what's to come the next day is planted at the forefront of my mind. I try to find ways to relax, to keep myself sane. Movies, books, puzzles, anything that I can do during the computers moments of self-operation.

I'm on the brink of doing something radical. I don't know what it will be, but I will either get out, or I will act out."

Log 4:

"Right when we entered the new decade, our rigs found a massive reserve.

We were through the roof, champagne was flowing for two reasons that night. Even Satashi, who had been a bit of a sourpuss for the better part of a year, was ecstatic about the discovery.

Satashi still leads us by a good mile, but at least the playing field was a bit evened out.

There's still speculation of whether cryptocurrency is the future, or just a wave that will die out in a matter of months. If it's the latter, than everything we have done may have been for nothing.

Right now, we can only hope that our hard work has paid off. Literally."

Log 5:

"Something's going on.

At the star of the year, it was worth $0.0008, two months later, it was $0.005. Right now, it's sitting at $0.08.

Satashi has told us not to sell for anything less than a dollar per coin, but it's already increased by nine-thousand, nine-hundred percent. We'll already be making a profit.

Regardless, Satashi locked all our crypto on one hard drive, and will only let us access it once it's hit the target we set out.

Personally, this is as good as it's gonna get. Maybe he sees something I don't, but right now, he's making a mistake."

Log 6:

"Today is the final day of our mining.

I've been instructed to add a delay deletion of these logs of 32 hours immediately after I finished.

However, I refuse to let our story die.

We worked too hard to get here, and for all the sweat and tears we shed, the fights we had, the celebrations, the dark days, the light ones. If I delete these logs, nothing remains. Our legacy will go unnoticed.

Is that really worth it?"

bitcoin
Like

About the Creator

James F. Ewart

I write what's on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.