The Chain logo

The Mystery Of Bitcoin

By Roberto Alago

By Roberto AlagoPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Bitcoin Image By Roberto Alago (c) 2021

The Mystery of Bitcoin

By Roberto Alago

Cryptocurrency is here to stay. Of the many available Today, Bitcoin is globally accepted as the first. Over the years, I have heard and read a lot of mistaken information about its origins. Usually, they go something like this: Bitcoin was invented in 2008 by someone known as Satoshi Nakamoto, blah, blah, blah...

If you are one of those who believes that story, I hate to be the one to burst your Bubble. Now, I don't know anything about Satoshi Nakamoto or how he or she fits into the puzzle or if he or she actually invented Bitcoin; as generally believed. That is not the real mystery, to me.

The real mystery is the date Bitcoin began to be used as currency. It is popularly believed that it was in the year 2008. However, I know for a fact that it was much earlier than that. A lot of other people know this bit of information to be true. It surprises me that to date, no one has set the record straight.

In 2006, I was working at a large Data Center in the South East region of the United States. There I met a man that was using Bitcoins; I'll call him Jack to protect his identity. Jack was a very smart fellow which most people underestimated because of his looks and his choice of clothing.

One day, while talking about hobbies with Jack, he told me about a role playing game, he played on-line and asked me if I played. I told him I was too busy trying to make a living and didn't have time to play and that for me, the computer was a tool and not a toy. That is when Jack mentioned that he had found a way to make money in the game. He had created a store to sell wigs to the players for their avatars. They paid him in Bitcoins, which he could then redeem for weapons and other stuff in the game.

At that, I asked the obvious question: How can you make real money from that? He then, proceeded to tell me how there were people selling goods on-line and accepting Bitcoins as payment; which they in turn use in the game or exchanged for other goods. He assured me that someday, Bitcoins would become more valuable than gold and suggested I join the platform. After seen the latest rates on Bitcoin exchanges, I wish I had followed his advice. I missed that boat! As the old saying goes: opportunity only knocks once.

But, I digress. Why has no one come forth and revealed the real start date for the use of Bitcoins as currency? Virtually or otherwise. Why is everyone saying it was 2008? Specially, when there were thousands, perhaps millions of people using it in 2006. Could it be they forgot to report their virtual earnings to the IRS (or their equivalent in their respective countries)?

Does it matter? I think it does. Bitcoin started a global monetary revolution and as a historic fact, it would be a good thing to know its true origins.

Satoshi Nakamoto, whomever you are, I understand why you wish to remain anonymous and I respect that. You know the true origins of Bitcoin, please, set the record straight. I'm not asking you to reveal your real identity, just tell the world the first time Bitcoin was used to exchange for a service or a good; virtual or otherwise. Until then, the real start date for Bitcoins, will remain a real unsolved mystery.

#bitcoin #roberto #alago #aguadilla #PR #puerto #rico #shib #crypto #satoshi #nakamoto #mystery

bitcoin
Like

About the Creator

Roberto Alago

Born in PR. Married, Father of four and Grandfather of eight. Soldier, Computer Expert. Admissions Associate at Interactive College Of Technology. A versatile man with interests too numerous to list; including: Acting and Public Speaking.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.