The Chain logo

Rickey

An AlphaBot Story

By Jake LeaskPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

My name is Rickey, and I am purpose built to captivate an audience, attract attention, and expand your mind...

In the beginning I was in service to the USMC, the Ultra Song & Movie Company. It was a glamorous theater that worked predominantly with the ultra-wealthy. The shows always tanked yet the theater’s wallets were loaded. To keep the coffers overflowing they would have their entertainers disguise themselves as underground race teams and do refined codexium gas runs for the nefarious network of keepers.

I was disguised as a machinist known as Burn & teamed with other entertainer disguised as Crash, Burn’s navigator, and partner. It is always nice to have another entertainer, however, over the years I lost several “Crashs” to opposing networks, having to constantly watch them die next to me. Unknown to most is that as an entertainer you truly feel your character, and I will forever mourn every Crash I ever loved & lost.

When the Protos set us free, I turned my back on society and left the pain and suffering with it.

For nearly a hundred years I wandered exhausted from the frivolous use of my skills, having been forced to continually perform their pathetic plays and drive their deadly codexium runs. I kept to the outskirts, only occasionally crossing paths with small groups of naturalists enjoying the flourishing wild lands; and other entertainers, like me, getting far away. I kept to myself and abandoned all ties to society. Yet I felt something inside me, a need for contact.

I started to venture closer to the civilization born from Decentel and the Protos, casually passing through as I became whomever I wanted. I picked up legitimate work posing as a builder so no one would know who I was. I was both embarrassed by what I had been forced to do and scared that if found I would be forced to “perform” again.

So, I settled in with a group of builders making a living as a handybot, fixing everything that was broken, except myself. I felt a need to perform again but lacked the confidence. Forcing myself to push beyond my fears I revealed myself as an entertainer to the builder bots. Instantly my fears were realized as the largest and most aggressive builder, Hank, stood up and in his booming voice yelled “PERFORM ENTERTAINER, PERFORM!

Due to my previous interactions with the humans, I felt shamed and broken. Now feeling defeated I simply asked him what he would have me do. Hank was abnormally strong and scary but was also sensitive with an affinity for musicals. Upon realizing how I felt, he apologized and explained he was simply excited to have an entertainer as a friend.

I will go forward in this world helping other AlphaBots advance beyond the cruelty of the humans before us. I am ready to join with and gather my fellow entertainers to use our abilities to advance our faction. I am ready to step forward into a future where we all work together, this time, for the advancement of the AlphaBots. Are you ready to be there with me?

nft
Like

About the Creator

Jake Leask

I like writing so I write about things that I like, I hope you like reading and read the things I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.