Styled logo

Would you trade style for comfort?

Victorian Era vs Sweatpants

By Nicole Conoway Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Just a taste of what the average evening gown was like in the 1800's

What is a fashion trend? Well, most perceive a trend as something they begin to notice everywhere they look. Fashion on the other hand is something that each person might perceive differently. So when a type of fashion is trending, then it is most likely something that a good percent of the population finds appealing, the trendy hippy dress and 60's era clothing, for example. For me, skinny jeans would be a fashion trend that I, personally, never found appealing like many did and still do. On the other hand, the Victorian days had a fashion sense that I would love to see come back as a fashion trend.

I am not naive to the issues with this style of clothing, and I’m certain that if I asked a few random people on the street why the Victorian era clothing has not come back, they would probably mention the time it took to get dressed, the uncomfortable corsets, and all of the accessories that were often large as well as heavy. And yet, those things that some might find unappealing about the era, are in my opinion exactly why we should bring back this fashion trend. Think about it like this, most people these days get dressed in about 10 min. After all, putting on some sweats and a T-shirt isn’t very time consuming.

This generation shops according to comfort level. If it is date night, we might ‘dress it up’ a bit, and that is why Jennings are in nearly every department store. Even jeans have become too uncomfortable for the average person in this generation. On several occasions, I have noticed people in their pajamas at a movie theater. This is interesting because in the Victorian era, when you went to the theater, you would be dressed in your finest gown because back then, seeing a movie or theatrical performance was a big deal to most people. I admire that people took pride in their appearance and without all of the social media and dating site distractions we deal with today, women spent their time getting in those beautiful dresses gossiping with their siblings and friends probably about love interests as they were much more often thinking of possibly meeting a man who might become their husband. It seems to have been a much more personal and gratifying experience just to get dressed.

So what happens when we no longer take as much time into how we look to the opposite sex? Well, the average age a person gets married could possibly go up. And it definitely has. I was 27 when I married and 31 when I had my son. I want more children but i already need a fertility doctor. Don’t get me wrong. I am not a supporter of children getting married at age 12-15 like in the Victorian era. But I also feel that more any more women are waiting too long to meet their husbands and having children. So maybe there is a happy medium in there. A type of fashion that gives you the Victorian style yet, lighter and easier to put together. This would offer less hassle with the same gorgeous results. Now that would be a great investment for some designer.

In all honesty, I love getting into my sweatpants and curling up on the couch with my husband, but I also love my silky slip pajamas with a silk robe tied around it. So if my husband were asked which he preferred, what do you think he would say? There is a definite sex appeal about all of the clothing woman of the 1800's wore before they were married because it left men to wonder. The fashion was by no means form fitting, so when the honeymoon reveal approached, I'm sure it was a much more intimate and beautiful experience than most have today. Well, I hope that you enjoyed my expression on the subject, and maybe we will see the Victorian era fashion in our stores sometime in the near future. Until then, lets try and have a little more fun and be somewhat picky with our wardrobe, shall we?

Nicole Conoway

trends
2

About the Creator

Nicole Conoway

Hello friends! I am very happy to be here to see how you like my stories. I ❤️ art in any form. I love to paint, and do portrait sketches. I sell my art from home & perhaps now I can sell some stories?

Thank you for reading! 💋 Nicole C

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.