Styled logo

Why Women Are Now Using Soft Drinks, Not Shampoo, To Wash Hair

What is this new trend and why is it happening

By Jide OkonjoPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1

The times right now are HARD for so many people. This is not news to anybody living not only in Nigeria right now, but really, anywhere in the world. The economy is a mess. Jobs and money are hard to come by. People are having to do any and everything these days to cut down costs, and finding alternative ways of doing things in an effort to save money. That brings up to today's new trend: people employing the use of soft drinks, over shampoo, to wash their hair.

It is a very interesting new trend that is becoming more prominent around the nation so without further ado, let's really dive into and discuss why this new trend is on the rise and why people are employing it.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

WHY ARE PEOPLE WASHING THEIR HAIR WITH SOFT DRINKS?

Well, the short answer is: money.

A Nigerian woman named Adeoti Oluwaremilekun, a fashion designer, said she was surprised the first time she saw her neighbour washing her daughter’s dreadlocks with a soft drink. According to Adeoti:

ADEOTI OLUWAREMILEKUN: I never thought in any way that one would use soft drink to wash hair, until I saw my neigbor doing so for her daughter. When I asked her why the use of soft drink, instead of shampoo and hair conditioner, she drew my attention to the high cost of hair treatment products which, according to her, have also reduced in quality, due to increase in the price of materials used for producing, packaging and distribution. She said some of her friends use soft drinks to treat their hair, and that it makes the hair fuller and tightens the outer cellular layer.

Meanwhile, another woman named Mojisola Ayeni who is an undergraduate said about the phenomenon:

MOJISOLA AYENI: I carry my natural hair and maintaining it is very expensive. Some quality treatment kits containing hair shampoo, treatment, oil, among other things for natural hair, ranges from N30,000 and above. Some of these hair products destroy the hair, despite their high prices. That is why I opted for soft drink when I saw the video on YouTube. Apart from soft drinks, I also apply clove water, onion water and other naturally made ingredients. I prepare it myself to increase, strengthen and thicken my hair. This innovation has made me save the money to attend to other needs.

What is the video in question that Mojisola saw you ask? Well, it could have been one from the multitude of videos being made about this new trend that are now all over the web from Youtube to TikTok.

Some people are saying this is good for your hair, some people are saying it's horrible. Either way, the root cause of why people are even opting for this is still a problem that severely needs to be remedied. Our governments and people in power really need to make money in the town start circulating more. We need to give people jobs, access to resources. Because if one has to opt for soft drinks over using shampoo and conditioner because of price, what happens if the price of soft drinks now becomes too expensive? What then?!

Hmm. What do you think about this new trend and what do you think about this whole story in general? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

If you want to follow me on alternative social media, I am now on Twitter and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me on Twitter as well @JideOkonjo.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

trends
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.