Styled logo

Where is my Pair?

An unpopular opinion

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Socks that match make happy feet.

We use many things in our daily lives that comes in pairs such as a pair of pants, a pair of mittens, a pair of gloves, a pair of shoes and lastly a pair of socks. Now, here is my concern: you wear a pair of mittens and they match, if you left the house with different pairs of mittens it would be weird, people would look at you funny and think "why are they wearing mismatched mittens?" Same would be with a pair of shoes. One would never walk out of the house wearing a boot on one foot and a sneaker on the other right? Reader, I feel like you have been agreeing with me so far on all of these pairs correct? correct. Well, then I have a wondering for you folks out there; why are you okay with wearing mismatched socks? Socks should not be mismatched like all the other items that you put on. I understand the fact that if you put a pair of socks in the wash only one comes out for some bizarre reason. This is where you go raiding your sister's drawers to find your sock, you would do the same if it were mittens would you not? You would be turning your house upside down to find that missing mitten and if you do not find the pair then you go to the store and buy some new gloves. Then, why is it that you do not go to the store to buy new socks, ones that you know, match? instead you are willing to wear two different pairs of socks and walk around like it is okay. Well, here is where my opinion is different most people are okay with walking around their house with their mismatched socks, where as for me it drives me up the wall. I remember one day where I was running late for work and for the life of me I could not find that black sock that matched my other black sock, but I was already frustrated because I was late and I grabbed a different black sock and I could tell it was different by the fabric. The fabric was thin almost the material of tights the other sock on my left foot was thick fabric, almost like winter socks and it felt weird. My feet felt weird the entire shift because my one foot was sweaty and the other foot was perfectly fine. It was the oddest feeling in the world. It is similar to that feeling you have when on a hot day, the only thing that is cold is your stomach and you put your hands on your stomach and you feel your body cool down. It was like that, but it did not feel nice, it felt really weird instead. Socks are created in large company's and they make sure that each sock is exactly the same.

Now, since you have watched this video, you see that so much effort is put in to make your perfect sock. So, why do not want socks that match? Everything that happens to make the socks are done so that they can be sold and make your feet happy and matching. I know, it takes less effort to find your missing sock and to pull on the next best thing, but then before you know it none of your socks match. Now, before you get judgmental and start to think that I may have an OCD problem, well I do not. But, consider this; You have a friend who likes to knit all sorts of things and they had decided to knit you a pair of socks, if you would lose one of the socks, you know your friend would be disappointed in you. You would look around your entire house to find that missing sock to avoid disappointing your friend. There are socks with different patterns, different material and yet you decide that it is okay to wear socks that do not match. If you start wearing socks that match, you will feel your life coming together. Socks are meant to be matched.

footwear
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.