Styled logo

Top 10 Shocking Red Carpet Outfits (Photos).

Red carpets are for statements.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
1

Red carpets are for statements.

It is a time for people, especially celebrities, to make bold fashion statements or just keep it casual. Sometimes without deliberately trying to make a statement, some celebrities do while other times trying to make a statement can come back to bite some celebrities as their fashion choices could sometimes go too far or not far enough.

For today's list, I'm compiling 10 Shocking Red Carpet outfits over the years. Now, not all of these outfits are shocking because they are risque, some are shocking because fans expected more; others are shocking for all kinds of different reasons.

So, without further ado, let's jump into these 10 Shocking Red Carpet outfits and let me tell you why each was as shocking as it was.

**Be sure to like and follow me on Facebook so you don't miss out on any new and interesting posts I make every single day.

10. Simi

When Simi in 2017 showed up for the Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards, her outfit became one of the major conversations of the night.

People HATED it, and they were more than happy to rip into the singer and let her know exactly how hideous the dress was to them. Here are just 3 from a slew of tweets against this dress:

The tweets were endless and Simi was up all night that day blocking and removing people's tweets from her page. Ultimately, she released a statement in a slew of tweets saying:

Pray that my music breaks the norm and I become a better artist and win Grammies…cos I pray that you make it in life. All Love. All God and before u say I should ignore, I’m not upset. At all. I just hate to see ppl so worked up abt something that is not stopping my blessings.

U don’t like my dress or hair. I’ve heard. I like it. I love it. I’m living my dream. Be happy for me. Cos tbh, I’m happy for me.Funny how it’s women that enjoy bashing other women (with good intentions. Lol). If one is comfy n happy, y are u tighting it to ur chest?Lol. If you take this energy and invest it in ur life sweetie, my needle and thread dress won’t bother you. And I mean well.

9. Dencia

When Dencia wore this star-fish inspired outfit to the 2018 Billboard Music Awards, viewers everywhere let out audible gasps...but not in the way I think Dencia would have expected.

People ripped into her outfit, some of the comments regarding the outfit said:

Hahahaha she looks like a Valkrie of Odin, the norsegod.

Abeg wetin be dis? She be like who dem send to go carry sacrifice

Why am i not surprised? She's always dressing in ways she hopes will gain her international fame. But i'm sorry dear Dencia you can never be associated with the big leagues if you keep dressing like this. Lady Gaga and others get away with all these weird styles because they are TALENTED stars. You are not talented dear. Sorry.

Yikes! Well, like it or not, the outfit got people talking which I guess was Dencia's intention.

8. Seyi Shay

When Seyi Shay rocked this outfit to the 2014 Channel O Awards, it got a lot of people talking and generated a lot of heat from not only fans and viewers online, but also from some industry folks like Charles Novia who speaking on the dress said:

She said she wants murder and dressed like that? She got her wish. Nonsense and ingredients. Lame thinking for a lame career. Let your talent speak for you always, if you don't have it, nothing can force anyone to accept it.

You build a 'sweetheart brand' which visibly competes with a better rival and then veer off…Let me be frank: that Bad Girl/Boy image never works. You get the lunatic fringe crowd edging you on and then they switch to the next one. You wey dey don form Bad Girl/Boy becomes limp and laggard. You become useless to the present order. That's how it goes. It's what it is.

Yemi Alade, Asa, Omawunmi, Waje didn't need to be near naked to be on top. They were judged on their TALENT and made it. Commendable. Let your talent speak for you always. If you don't have it, nothing can force anyone to accept it. This business thrives on talent not tart.

While some agreed with him and others did not, Seyi herself seemed unphased by his words saying later:

I read some things about me today, I think people should focus more on themselves, than on others. Maybe he was having a rough day.

7. Diane Russet

When BBN star, Diane Russet showed up to walk the red carpet at the film premiere of Mercy Johnson's movie, The Legend of Inikpi, the internet wasn't ready for it. The outfit was a very risque choice that put Diane's breasts on full display.

When the actress took to social media to post photos of the outfit, the response was very divided. Some praised her for being able to pull off the outfit, while others bashed her saying that "This isn't the Diane we know".

Well, whatever side the people fell on, it is undeniable that Diane stole the show at that movie premiere and her outfit alone brought more buzz to the movie than the movie itself.

6. Cynthia Morgan

When Cynthia Morgan hit the red carpet of the StarMusicTrek artiste sign on party in 2015, her outfit got the internet talking.

The outfit got so much backlash for how 1.) simple it was, and 2.) people said it wasn't at all appropriate for a red carpet event.

Some of the comments read:

She looks like she just woke up from sleep. Her "shirt dress" looks like a sleepwear to me

Her fake nails... how can one be so long and the other broken... hehehe

This her dress nawa

5. Denrele Edun

When Denrele Edun hit the 2015 AMVCA red carpet, he got everyone talking as Denrele tends to do with his outfits.

The whole outfit got Nigerians divided. Some praised his confidence and wild antics, while others accused him of going too far.

Speaking about that outfit choice now, Denrele said on his Twitter:

Looks like the boy still loves the outfit.

4. Bimbo Ademoye

It's not that there was anything wrong per se about Bimbo Ademoye's look to the Sugar Rush movie premiere, but I think people's upset came when pictures of Bimbo standing beside Adesua and Bisola also hit the net.

People accused the green outfit of being too risque for this kind of red carpet. Others told her to "see what your co-stars are wearing".

If you liked it or hated it, at least Bimbo caused a riot and you know what they say...any publicity is good publicity.

3. Tiwa Savage

When Tiwa Savage stepped unto the 2014 Channel O Africa Music Video Awards, she was clearly prepared to cause a storm with her outfit. A storm she indeed caused.

The outfit that saw Tiwa showing a lot of cleavage and thigh caused uproar from people on the internet who considered the outfit too sexy and too revealing.

It was 2014, if only they knew what Tiwa had in store for the upcoming years. 😂🤣

2. Denise Zimba

At that same 2014 Channel O Africa Music Video Awards, people who were shocked to see Tiwa Savage didn't know what to say when pictures of South African singer, Denise Zimba hit the internet.

The actress got A LOT of backlash for this sheer piece, but defended her choice in wearing it saying:

For me, everyone has their opinion. I feel like we fought so hard for freedom of speech I want people to have whatever they want to say put out there if it makes them feel better,”

I was part of the creation of the design, I knew exactly what I wanted to wear. I feel like I’m not gonna be 26 forever, I feel like I’m not gonna have this body forever. I am obsessed with my body because I work hard for it so if I feel like I want to be butt naked that’s what I’m gonna do.

1. Pam Andrews

Now, THAT is a shocking outfit. Believe it or not, this outfit was from that same 2014 Channel O Music Awards (I think it's time they bring it back😂).

Before South African singer, Pam Andrews, even finished setting her foot on the Channel O red carpet, her pictures were already trending all over the internet, and till today, it is still one of the most controversial outfits anybody has ever won GLOBALLY on the red carpet.

The outfit was slammed for everything: it was trashy, risque, inappropriate, too much...what wasn't the outfit slammed for.

But Pam herself didn't seem to care and was seen dancing and gyrating all through the night.

THAT'S ALL.

Which outfit did you think was the most shocking? Did you like any? Hate any?

I post interesting lists and articles like this one every single day. To make sure you don't miss out on any new ones, be sure to like and follow my Facebook page.

To read other interesting posts right now, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrity looks
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.