Styled logo

To Upcycling And BEYOND!

Why thrift stores are out of this world

By The Creative Chimera Published 3 years ago 4 min read
4
To Upcycling And BEYOND!
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

Once upon a time, a little girl walked through a battered metal archway into a world of possibilities. My first visit to a thrift store was a new kind of thrill. A treasure trove awaited me, filled with items even I could afford on my meagre allowance. For the price of a handful of candy, I could snag a fancy purse or choose my own new clothes. I was enthralled by the magic of that secondhand paradise.

I moved to a new town just before starting high school. The local thrift store was one of the only places in town worth going to and I was a frequent visitor. I worked a part-time job in fast food with the woman who happened to run that thrift store. She was about 4 feet tall and tough as nails. She had survived countless struggles with physical illness and still worked full time to run her store as well as helping out her brother, the owner of the restaurant where we worked together. The way she told it, doctors predicted years before that she would be in a wheelchair for life. and she responded, “ I just had a son, I can't lose my legs now”. Through sheer force of will, she made that goal a reality. Twenty-odd years later when I met her she was still walking. Not only was she walking around but actively working to help those in her orbit when she could. She never failed to let me know right away if something special arrived. I didn't have a lot of money and my new home was a fairly affluent farming community. The other children at school wore the big brands and the latest trends. Knowing that I couldn't afford to keep up with them she would let me know whenever something exciting was available that might be my size so I could rush over and snap it up if I needed something. She went out of her way to help me try and fit into my new surroundings and I was so grateful for her support. I eventually furnished my first home with many items purchased from her store. I will never forget my gratitude for everything she and her little shop of wonders did for me.

A few of my favourite thrifty treasures around my home

These days I still find plenty of reasons to hop over to my local thrift shops. It's my favourite place to search for exciting new books or inspiration for my next art project. Sourcing art supplies from a local goodwill or salvation army not only saves money but it gives an old item new life! Old paintings can be used as a canvas for new artwork. An old faux fur blanket can become part of a new costume. There are endless possibilities for inspiration and upcycling!

A handmade pencil case that still had the original tags from a craft fair

I would be remiss if I didn't mention one of my top-tier reasons to go snooping around a thrift store. They still sell VHS tapes you guys! I loved my childhood collection of Disney films and other iconic movies. I have been working to recollect all of those favourites through the years by scouring thrift stores for those hits of nostalgia. I still have a working VCR and I don't intend to give it up until it meets its end.

My home is currently filled with items from goodwill that I love, but one particular item came to me in a perfect twist of fate. I had just found out I would be joining my boss, an author, for a business trip to a big conference in New Orleans. I needed some hot weather clothes that were fun but professional and I had nothing to wear! I went on the hunt all over my city looking for the perfect items to pack for my big adventure. This would be the closest I'd had to a holiday in year's so I wanted something to make it special. After hours of searching to little avail, I finally pulled the perfect dress off a rack. It was midnight blue with little red skulls. Now to understand why this was perfect you should know that part of my job was to cosplay as a fiery red queen from my boss's fiction series. I wore the costume to many events and absolutely loved to get dressed up. Finding a dress that perfectly represented my character was everything I had hoped for. It was soft and light, perfect for hot weather and so soothing to the touch. I was in love. This dress represented everything I loved about my job and still brings me so much joy to this day. Sometimes I pull it out of the closet just to run my fingers along the silky fabric and thank my lucky stars that someone out there sent this dress my way. I am honoured to give this amazing item a new beginning.

The world's most perfect dress (the tag says Wasabi but I have never been able to figure out where this masterpiece came from)

My life has been constantly influenced by the power of a good thrift. The love for thrift shopping follows me to this day and I don't plan to give it up anytime soon!

Thank you so much for reading. If you enjoyed this article please consider leaving a little heart and sharing it with your friends on social media!

Just for a fun reference point, this is me as the Queen of Olearon from the fiction trilogy The 8th Island by Alexis Marie Chute. This look inspired my love for the dress featured above. A large majority of our costume pieces were sourced from thrift stores or created by hand from spare materials.

deals
4

About the Creator

The Creative Chimera

Welcome! I’m an Artist, Twitch streamer, & eclectic writer. I do fiction and non fiction so check out my profile to see more of my topics! I joined vocal to spread some knowledge, share some of my works & find awesome writers to experience!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.